A letter to the new boy in my life

Standard

Dear Cris,

Today, at 12:09am you were FINALLY born. Seriously, I say that because we waited over 24 hours to see your cute little face! You gave your poor mom a lot of trouble… But you were most certainly worth the wait! We weren’t expecting you to get here for at least another week, but no one is complaining I can promise you that.

It’s been so surreal, waiting for you these last 9 months. Time has flown by, but the whole family has been talking about you nonstop. You’re a long awaited addition to a small family that loved you long before we ever saw your face.

And now that you’re here? I can’t even tell you how happy, overwhelmed and completely in love with you I am. I had to go about my whole day before meeting you, and let me just tell you that it was endless. All I could think about was making it to the hospital and finally seeing that you really do exist. It wasn’t all a big lie- you were REALLY here. I walked into the room with your grandma and my breath literally caught in my throat. You’re so tiny! Only 7 pounds, 7 ounces. The nurse was holding you with one hand- she was careful don’t worry. No one has dropped you yet!

I spent some time just looking at your tiny face at first. I’m so nervous around newborns, so I hope you give me a chance to get used to holding you the right, comfortable way. Your mama is already a pro, and your dad got to practice with me when I was born… But you’re the first baby to be born since me in the family. This is so special for all of us- you’re always going to be surrounded by a lot of love and happiness and excitement. You’re the first born, the first new generation in your family.

Anyway, I held you for quite some time today. As soon as grandma put you in my arms I seriously debated just taking you home. I asked your mama what she thought about that, but it looked like she wanted to keep you around for a while longer. I can’t blame her, you’re so tiny and adorable! So far, we’re loving what a calm newborn you are. You hardly cry unless you’re hungry. You let people pass you around without complaining one bit… And you get the hiccups. ALL the time. It’s too cute for words, really. That’s the only thing that seems to frustrate you.

I looked at your face for so long, trying to remember each tiny little thing about this first meeting. I was already imagining what I might write to you in this letter, what things I would want you to know if you ever get the chance to read this. You’re hardly 24 hours old and I’m already seeing tiny bits of your personality come through. You’re already good looking like mom and dad combined, and I swear you’re just as calm as your daddy when he was born. You already seem incredibly curious- when you’re awake, your eyes are wide open and your gazing intently at all the things around you. While I had you in my arms, I could have sworn you were learning my face already. You were looking at me so clearly, I could hardly believe it.

Most importantly, I want you to know that there are literally so many people that are happy that you’re here. It’s so crazy to think that it’s possible to adore you this much so soon, but it’s true. I can’t wait to experience the world with you. I know mom and dad will get to do lots of fun stuff with you, but as your crazy aunt, I’ll be teaching you lots of useful things too. No one is a kid at heart like I am, and I’m already thinking of the things I plan on doing with you.

When I babysit you, we’re always going to have story time. I promise you that by the time you can walk, you’ll already love books. I’m going to make sure you’ve got all the best ones, because that’s my thing you know. I learned to love books because of MY grandma… But since yours aren’t big readers well you’ve got me. By the time you’re 11 you’ll be anxiously awaiting your letter from Hogwarts like any kid should. You’ll know all about Harry Potter of course, and you’ll be able to recite lines from the best Disney movies.

I’ll make sure you’re doing all those magical things you should be doing as you grow up. You need someone to really spoil you… That’ll be me. I’ll take you to the mall and get you ridiculous presents that your parents wouldn’t buy you. We’ll sit by the fountain and I’ll teach you about making wishes and throwing pennies in for good luck. We’ll have our own secret language (like me and your daddy used to have when I was little!) and we’ll make up our own silly games that no one else understands.

I can’t wait to see the little boy you’re going to become in the next few years, and one day (in a long time!) the man you become too. There is just so much you have to experience, and I want to be there for all of it.

So as we’re getting close to the end of your day of birth, I just want to say that I’m so happy I finally got to meet you. I was getting incredibly anxious, wondering about your pretty little features. Now that you’re here, the whole world is in front of you, ready for you to take it on.

Happy Birthday my little nephew.

All my love,

Auntie Melissa

 

 

14 responses »

  1. This is so sweet and you bring back so many memories from the first time I saw my nephew. You are going to have so much fun with him, just wait! Nephews are a blast and I love how I can be totally immature and silly with my own nephew and he loves it. 🙂

    Congrats (a third time?) to your family!

    ALSO…omg, he is adorable! I just saw one of the pictures you posted on Twitter and I couldn’t see his whole face but ah! He’s so, so adorable.

  2. Pingback: A second letter to the new boy in my life « Press Play.

  3. Pingback: 2011; A Brief Review « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

