On… Writing

Standard

First of all, happy National Writing Day! 

I wanted to take a minute to really think about why it is that I write. I’ve been doing it for so long now, it’s rare that I ever take the time to understand what it is that I love so much about it. And there is so much that I love about it.

The written word can be beautiful. It can be hopeful, mysterious, heart-breaking, powerful. Every single human emotion is directly linked to the things we read each and every single day. At any given moment I can express myself better on paper than I can in real life. I love writing because it gives me an outlet for my emotions.

I love the opportunities that writing gives to the world. Musicians, novelists, journalists, bloggers and any number of other professions rely on  words to make a living. These people have some of the best jobs in the world- they make a living with something that takes skill, care and passion. I have such a respect for anyone who makes money through writing. If I’ve learned anything through the years, it’s the fact that it takes an incredibly honest and confident person to put their written work out into the world. No matter how hard you try, YOU will shine in what you write. That is what’s so unique about it.

I write because I love teaching people about who I am through words. I read, listen to music, read blogs, write articles & blog myself because there is something so incredibly satisfying in opening myself up to all these worlds, all these peoples’ emotions- most importantly my very own. I love finishing a book, closing the last page, and feeling like I just said goodbye to a new friend. I love closing my eyes, listening to a song & feeling like I’ve peeked into the heart of the artist who wrote it.

Writing is so much more than just my emotions and your emotions. It records the emotions of history. How else would we learn about everything that came before us? How else could we possibly accurately describe those moments  that are a once in a life time experience? Without words, photos have no background story. Without words, every second that comes before this one is erased into oblivion. The human race needs writing to survive it’s own time.

I write because I’m leaving a legacy of myself behind. I love the idea that one day my kids, my grand-kids and all those who come after will have some way of remembering me as I am in this moment. And while I’m still here? I love looking back on my own work. The human mind is not created to remember every single moment that we go through. There are so many important details that just fall through the cracks of our memory because it’s making space for the new memories we make each day. Without my writing, I would never remember some of the most special moments that happened years ago. I need my writing to look back on who I was; I need it to grow as a person.

I know that sometimes words will never be enough. I know that sometimes I’ll feel too overwhelmed and I’ll need to NOT write and to just BE. The important thing, though, is that I will always write because I WANT to. I will write for as long as it is something I love to do, and for as long as it challenges me and allows me to offer a new perspective to the rest of the world. I write because I respect everything language stands for.

I write because I can’t imagine not writing. It inspires me each and every single day and leaves me with a sense of who I am and why I’m here- what it is that I’m meant to do. 

I’d love to know if you’re reading this, why do YOU write? What do you love about writing?

12 responses »

  1. I write because it keeps me sane. Any time that I am facing an issue or an obstacle I put my pen to paper or my fingers to the keyboard and begin writing away. I am able to let all of my emotions flow through my finger tips rather than keeping them bottled up inside.

  2. I am enjoying reading everyone’s why I write posts. I agree, writing to be able to look back and see how far you’ve come, or how much you’re grown is incredible.

    • Exactly. It’s so helpful as a writer to see how you’ve grown over the years. Definitely helps my writing confidence and allows me to see who I’ve become as a person along the way!

Leave a Reply

