Here and There

Standard

These last couple weeks have been crazy. I hardly have time to read blogs let alone write my own! Ever since my nephew was born 6 days ago (WHAT? ALREADY? He’s so old!… Just kidding. But seriously, this week flew by) I literally haven’t had time to sit with any of my school work or basically do anything besides want to see his little face.

Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday last week I was at the hospital. Wednesday I studied for my midterm on Thursday (which I did awful on) and Thursday after school I studied for my midterm on Saturday. Friday I worked and studied afterwards, and then on Saturday I did AWFUL I mean really badly on that midterm too. I don’t know what’s up with my exams- or with me- but I’m not getting the right amount of time in for anything these days.

This weekend was a mixture of good and bad. It wasn’t relaxing whatsoever. I mean it’s Monday morning and this is the first day I’ve actually slept in… WEEKS. I was so tired I can’t even begin to explain.

Saturday: I woke up at 6:45am and made my way to school for 9am. Studied my butt off until 10, had a crap exam, and came right back home. After a couple hours my grandfather came in from out of town and we drove over to my brother’s house for a really lovely evening with the family. We had a little dinner and spent some time taking pictures and basically all just staring at the cuteness of my baby nephew Cris.

Sleeping in his grandpa’s arms!

He still can’t see really well (see how dark his eyes are?) but I swear he was looking right at me!

We stayed at my brother’s house until 9:15pm or so and headed back home. I was completely exhausted after my early morning and my (crap) exam, so I just wanted to go home and to sleep before another early day on Sunday. Unfortunately I didn’t get to sleep in my bed because my grandparents were staying for the night, so it was a restless evening of waking up at every little noise.

Sunday: My alarm went off at 6:45 but I didn’t get out of bed until almost 7:20. I rushed to get ready, and made my way downtown with some girls from work for our 9am work meeting. I stayed entertained because really, the people I work with are quite hilarious. Also, sitting next to one of my best friends OUT of work (& obviously at work) and making comments the whole time helped a whole lot.

When it was done at 11:45am we came back home. I got in around 1 in the afternoon, and meant to spend the afternoon studying with friends. I didn’t even open my books before they got here at 3, and even then I just couldn’t settle myself down to get things done. For shame. On the bright side, I spent 2 and a half hours with two of my best friends Agnes & James, both who I haven’t seen in a really, really long time. I missed them and our crazy conversations!

At 6pm I did something I haven’t done in YEARS. I babysat. My new neighbor has a cute 6 year old son, and while she went out to a concert I babysat him. I was his FIRST EVER babysitter which is so crazy to me! His bedtime was 7:30 so we only had time for a bit of homework and a little visit across the street at my house before it was time to put pj’s on and read some bedtime stories. He owns a LOT of books- a lot of my favorites from work too. We settled in and read some Robert Munsch… And my personal fave of all time:

The story of an unlikely friendship between a boy and a penguin!

I SHOULD have studied once he went to bed but I could practically not keep my eyes open. By 9pm I was almost fast asleep on the couch straight until 11pm when his mama got back home. Then? Right back to bed straight until 10am today! I clearly really, really needed some sleep.

This week is for…

Lots of homework and lots of work in between. I really need to settle myself in and just do it. That might mean I’ll be MIA from blogs for a few days, which I’m already not looking forward to.

On the bright side Thursday night is MUMFORD AND SONS in Montreal and I simply can’t wait! That’ll be the perfect way to start my weekend- one that is guaranteed to be more relaxing than this last one. Hopefully I’ll make some time for baby Cris in there too, because I miss his little face already!

How was your weekend?! 

10 responses »

  1. Wow, that is one hectic schedule Mel! I’m sorry to hear your exams weren’t great – hopefully you’ll settle back down in to the swing of things soon!

    Haha, staff meetings are so fun when your friends are there (pretty boring otherwise in my experience!) We spent our meeting last week pinging messages back and forth about how we were supposed to play ‘staffroom volleyball’ when they put the proposed 4 new computers on the ‘net’!!

    So so jealous of you going to see Mumford – my brother saw them last year and said they were the best band he has ever seen live! Enjoy 🙂 🙂

  2. Little Cris DOES look like he’s staring right at you in that photo! He’s such a cutie!

    I hope you can get caught up on homework and feel more settled after this week. Thinking of you!

  3. Eeeee I want to see Mumford and Sons! I wouldn’t mind spending some time with Marcus Mumford, wink wink. Your schedule sounds nuts, hope things calm down soon 🙂 And congrats again on becoming an auntie!

Leave a Reply

