Sigh No More. [A Mumford Review]

Standard

For MONTHS now, I’ve been obsessed with a little band called Mumford & Sons. Their current album has been on repeat on my iTunes for almost a year now, and during my exam finals last semester I spent hours looking up their tour dates, day dreaming of seeing them live.

Last night? I FINALLY did. There are many things I’d like to say about my night, but first of all it’s important to point out that I LEFT MY CAMERA AT HOME and went along on my merry way. Seriously, me. no camera. So ridiculous. So I’d like to thank my friend Agnes who I’ve stolen many photos from and YouTube for all the videos I’ve stolen as well. You’re all a whole lot smarter than I am.

Moving on.

The show opened up with two bands that I had never heard of before and left as a newly converted fan. Apache Relay and Nathaniel Rateliff both put on really great sets and deserved a mention because hello, they opened for Mumford. They’re clearly really amazing. During the last two songs of Nathaniel Rateliff’s set, Marcus Mumford (MARCUS. MUMFORD!) joined the band on stage to sing along, and during the very last song the entire Mumford band joined them on stage. It was a camera-worthy moment.

Mumford & Sons came onstage around 9:15 singing ‘Lover’s Eye’- the first two minutes the entire stadium stayed pitch black. As the song picked up, all the lights went on and the crowd went CRAZY. Their set lasted about an hour and a half; they played almost their entire debut album ‘Sigh No More’ (minus the song SIGH NO MORE. That was a small disappointment)… Luckily the entire record is a favorite song of mine so I was still jumping up and down every time they started a new track & I really don’t think I’ve ever screamed and sang that loud at a show. If I have, it’s been a long LONG time.

Some of my favorite moments? Hard to CHOOSE. I’d have to say that the following songs were incredibly memorable though: Roll Away Your Stone, LITTLE LION MAN and Awake My Soul were by far the most amazing. The Encore was also truly beautiful- After The Storm & The Cave- two of the best songs on the record in my opinion.

Mumford also played a ton of new songs. If you were wondering whether they’d live up to this first album? Don’t even WONDER. I think it’s going to be even better than the first… And that’s honestly saying something. Every new song that they played I was mesmerized, in awe, in a complete trance.

Marcus Mumford’s voice is NOT done justice on the album (which is also saying a lot as it is just wonderful). It is so incredibly unique and just wow. Live? It’s 10 times more powerful and more moving. I have not a single idea how he sings so beautifully. His voice is one of the mysteries of the world and such an honest, raw talent.

Basically, I plan on seeing them live again many, many times.

I’d also like to say that my city is just LOVELY. We all danced our heads off, sang as loud as our voices would allow, shouted until our voices went hoarse, and welcomed that band into our hockey arena with true Montreal chants. The boys even came back during the Encore and put on some HABS hockey jerseys to show their love of our city.

I’m writing this as I listen (and watch) videos on YouTube from last night, and I’m still in just as much shock that it actually happened. I go to a pretty big amount of concerts and I almost always leave the venue on an adrenaline high… But this is just different. I was so entirely blown away by everything. The simple yet gorgeous set, the lights, the VOICE, the instruments… It was a wonderful night overall and I’m so happy that I got to be there for it.

Marcus Mumford, you are welcome back here ANYTIME. I know I’m not alone when I say that you and your band can play Montreal again as soon as you’d like. We miss you already. Also, I love how much you all spoke French. 🙂

The set, with the beautiful lights hanging over the band (they were all through the stadium as well)… and the camera filming up above was all in beautiful black & white.

Marcus Mumford. ❤

The general admission crowd… Well half of it. Sold out show!

Habs jerseys during the Encore to MUCH cheering from the crowd!

What’s the best concert you’ve ever been to?!

8 responses »

  1. Oh love them, glad you had such a great time!

    I think one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to was a Craig David one also tied with the recent NKOTBSB, it was truly an amazing concert. Lurve.

  2. <–New follower here! And I feel your blog & I should have met long ago. LOL Love the design first-off, then I see you write about Mums. Mums!! I'm a bit jealous. I don't live in a big city with concerts and so I would have to travel far to see them. But they are the best. They bring so much to their music that you don't find in any other band. I could go on…but I won't…because you already know. lol Thanks for sharing this experience with us.

  3. I’m so glad that I got to see Mumford and Sons last month too. We only got to hear 1 new song though so I’ll be real excited to check out the new album.

    PS – They didn’t play Sigh No More at our concert either.

Leave a Reply

