October Goals: A Review

Standard

A few things before I get started…

1- Happy Halloween! Hope you all have an awesomely scary day. This is the first year in a while that I haven’t done ANYTHING for the holiday- I was too broke to buy a costume & didn’t have the time to home-make something. Nonetheless, I love Halloween & I’m going to fully take advantage and eat some chocolate. ๐Ÿ™‚

2- This week marked one year since I put down my puppy. I can’t believe how fast time has gone- I still find myself coming in the house expecting to see her running towards me. It’s crazy how much animals can impact/change our lives, so I just wanted to take a second and remember her and her cute little face.

One of the last photos I took of my baby girl. Miss you always โค

3- Ever since my ‘Famous Search Terms‘ post there are TONS of people who come around here looking for MATTHEW LEWIS SHIRTLESS. I’m going to tell you all again right now that these photos do not exist. Here is proof.

October Goals: Review

Why these aren’t on MY doorstep I have no idea.ย 

Okay, on to the post. I’ll be honest, I debated for a long time just not writing this review of October at all. I honestly neglected my goals more or less & was just too busy with school to even bother. Then I figured, what’s the point of setting up these monthly posts if I can’t even hold myself accountable for the things I’d like to do? So I’m going to review my goals because I SHOULD hold myself accountable for them and so that’s just what I’m going to do.

October was a tough month, overall. I had the same problem last year when I blogged only 7 times, and I’m pretty sure it was mostly just to complain about school. This month, I only wrote 22 posts out of (what should have been) 31. Although I really would have liked to blog every day, I know that I took those days off because I mentally NEEDED to and honestly? School just took over my life. I think that’s normal for the middle of semester.

Anyways, here were the goals & how I did:

1-ย Get at least 8 hours of sleep every night.

Half accomplished. I definitely TRIED to do this & I think I succeeded about 3/4 of the time. I did spend a few late nights doing homework on my laptop which meant it didn’t get turned off at the time I would have liked. Also to be honest, I basically forgot about this entirely.

2-ย Shut the computer off by 9 or 10pm at the latest.

Half accomplished. I was mostly able to accomplish this, but not because I purposely meant to. Out of habit, I tend to get tired of the computer between 9 and 10 and like to read for half an hour before bed. I am guilty of not fully accomplishing this though, as I mentioned above I procrastinated my homework and spent a few sleepless night working on papers.

3-ย Prepare for NaNoWriMo

Not accomplished. I thought about it a lot this month, and seeing how busy I was I made the decision to NOT take part in it this year. I’ve been looking forward to it basically since it ENDED last year, but with school and work, I don’t have any time to brainstorm an entire novel AND write it in the final month of my fall semester. Maybe I’ll host my own personal NaNoWriMo in the summer when I have time? Regardless, this is a goal I’ve decided to set aside until I have time to accomplish it the way I WANT to. Right now, I’m just now in the frame of mind to do it.

4-ย Read more than 5 books

Accomplished. I may have *kind of* cheated on this because I read 5 graphic novels in the ‘Death Note’ series. I’m sorry, those are SO addictive and I’m counting them anyway. I also read 3 *actual* books… So I was pretty busy reading considering how much other stuff I was doing too.

5-ย Meet my nephew!

Accomplished. He was born on October 18th 2011 around 12:10AM. He weighed 7 pounds, 7 ounces, and I’m in love with him. ๐Ÿ™‚

The second time I got to hang out with little Cris!

6-ย Complete at least two random goals on my 101 or my 23 Before 23, and blog about them.

Not accomplished. I forgot about this COMPLETELY. I did blog about my budgeting at the beginning of October (another post is coming on that this week) I haven’t put any more effort into blogging about my goals.

7-ย Start eating better again, figure out a fitness routine

Half accomplished. I picked up a membership on sale for fitness classes which I’ll be doing THIS month. I’m very excited. I also have a really amazing fitness routine stored in my Gmail courtesy of Stephany which needs some looking at and some doing, obviously. As for eating better again, I’ve been on and off that one… But I’m going to say that right now I’m on the right track.

8-ย Be passionate.

Up for debate. I’m thinking back on this month and I can’t quite figure out if I ACCOMPLISHED this in the way that I would have liked. Be passionate in everything I do. I certainly did my best in everything I took on, but some tasks took a lot of effort for me and could have used more of my time. I’d like to think I can do better with this goal.

All in all, I did so-so this month. Now that I’ve looked over my goals I can say that I did a BIT better than I had thought, but I just wasn’t *feeling it* throughout the month. I posted this week about starting to feel more like myself again, and I’m hoping this persists throughout the month of November.

I’m starting to smile a little more again, I’m going out a little bit when I can, and this last week I started to feel motivated about the things in my life that had lost their appeal (eating right, exercising, getting school work done). I have a good feeling about November, and I’m excited to set myself up with REALISTIC goals as of tomorrow. November means the end of this god awful semester I’m having… But I think that I can use October as a model for how I don’t ever want to feel again. Sure, it sucked, but that happens to everyone. I just have to look past it.

I’m glad I took some time to write this post. It’s reminding me why I do this and why I give myself goals to begin with. I love this MOTIVATED feeling I have, and I love that I’m re-discovering it every single month. I may not stick to my goals each and every single day, but I’m human right? I can only hope to learn from what I do wrong!

Tell me, how was your month of October? What inspired you, what did you accomplish that you’re PROUD of?

9 responses »

  1. I think #5 was the most important goal so YAY! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Confession? I’m scared to death about NaNoWriMo. It’s going to take SO much dedication (i.e., waking up early, staying up late, foregoing TV shows, etc.) that I don’t know if I can do it. But I’m going to try my best!

    Happy Halloween!

  2. Wow, those HP pumpkins are amazing!

    Let’s face it – as soon as your nephew arrived (he’s gorgrous btw!) the month was always going to get crazy and goals were going to take a backseat – don’t beat yourself up about it.

  3. I’m glad you’re slowly working your way out of your funk…hope you’re back to normal soon ๐Ÿ™‚ And no worries on missing out in October, October is a wonky month and no one blames you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

