November: Goals

Standard

November in my city is always beautiful. I’ll be the first to admit that I really dislike winter & the reason I’m not a fan of autumn is because you know the first snow fall is right around the corner. Even though all these things mainly happen in November here in Montreal, there is still something so romantic and wonderful about the first real cold month of the year around here. It’s impossible to turn away as all the leaves change colors and fall off the trees, gathering into big pools in the grass just waiting to be jumped in.

I’m hoping that with this renewed sense of beauty in my city brings me the inspiration I need this month. Although I felt like October was a bit of a dull time for me, all your incredibly sweet comments on my post yesterday reminded me that it wasn’t AS BAD AS I THOUGHT and that I do these goals because I want to. Which I really, really do.

I want to look at November with fresh eyes and an open heart. Now that I’m feeling somewhat better, I want to push through this last tough semester of school and get ready for the holidays with my family. I’m planning really special things for December already, but to get there I need to finish November off right. Here’s what I want this month to look like:

1. Participate in NaBloPoMo [instead of NaNoWriMo]. Since January I’ve been trying my best to participate in WordPress’ Post A Day Challenge in hopes of pushing myself as far as I can with my writing. Since January, I have only hit the 30/31 posts per month FOUR times. I came really close a few times with 27-28-29… Which I’m super happy about. This month, instead of doing NaNoWriMo which I’d been looking forward to for ages, I’ve decided instead to do NaBloPoMo. I want to hit the full 30 posts by the time the month is over. At least I feel like I’m doing SOMETHING for my writing in this month dedicated to it!

In order to accomplish this goal, I’m doing something in blogging that I have NEVER done before. I’m using a calendar to organize my posts for the month. So far, I’m having a TON of fun with it. I don’t want any ideas to go through the cracks! If I’m going to inspire myself through some kind of writing, I’m going to do it right. πŸ™‚

2. Blog once a week about health/fitness. I have a lot of plans for fitness this month that I’m excited to share through a few blog posts. I’m going to take pictures, talk about gym classes & hopefully take some time to try some healthy recipes. I’m crossing my fingers that I remember to do this because I think it could be a lot of fun! Plus, I think by writing about it more regularly I’ll start to see that I’m more mindful of what I eat and how I exercise.

3. Β Don’t leave any homework to the last minute. I figure that “don’t procrastinate” is not a realistic goal whatsoever, but in the last two months I did way more homework the night before or even the DAY that it was due… And I really don’t like that feeling. I’m going to try to set my own deadlines a few days before the actual one so that I can re-read my work and feel happy about it, rather than rushed. I don’t know why I always do this to myself. Procrastination is the enemy.

4. Track my spending habits for my budget. More on this in my post tomorrow about the budget I made last month, but basically I want to see where every dollar I spend as of TODAY goes. I tried doing this with an online website but found that it wasn’t as accurate as I would have liked.

5. Do something out of the ordinary. A big problem with October is that I spent too much time feeling guilty about what I wasn’t accomplishing, and I wasn’t doing enough things that were making me smile. Even the little things like going to see movies, spending random nights with friends & studying with a group are enough to brighten my day- and while I’m in school those things are in fact out of the ordinary. I spend too much time trying to do things at my computer and not enough time doing actual THINGS. This month I’m going to aim for a few of those ‘out of the ordinary’ moments and do them guilt-free. Sometimes, homework needs to take the back burner.

{Source}

Those are the five things I am giving myself this month. I often add a few other things in there that I’m kind of leaving up to the fates in November. My usual reading goals & trying to accomplish things out of my 101 list tend to just accomplish themselves, so this month I’m aiming to get a few things done that are a little different… While hopefully still doing those things that I love- like reading, for example.

I have 29 more posts this month to look forward to & I’m excited to write about these five goals as well as anything & everything else that inspires me in November.

What are your personal goals this month? Are you doing anything special for your writing this month?Β 

10 responses »

  1. looking forward to the next 29 posts lovely. don’t beat yourself up when you feel unproductive… you’re great at posting and always so passionate about what you write… and the point of schoolwork is to sit on the backburner right?x

  2. Like you I’m incredibly busy at the moment and I keep putting off a couple of different things I’d like to do, especially things for my blog. So I will show my support and join you in NaBloPoMo. Like Jen I always look forward to reading your posts.

  3. Pingback: NaBloPoMo November 2011 | 101 Things 1001 Days

  4. I think I need to join you in #4. I mean, I’m doing a lot better with my money and trying not to spend when I don’t need to, but I would also like to see what I’m doing with the money I have.

    Are you talking about Mint for the online website? I tried to use them but it was wildly inaccurate for me, too. And they thought I was “running low” when I had $100 in my account. HA! That is a time for celebration. πŸ˜‰ I’m doing it old-school with budgeting, pen and paper.

    • Oh! And I also want to tell you I’ve started making a calendar of blog posts I want to write and when and it’s been SO helpful in helping me keep track of what I want to write about and when. OK. I’m done. πŸ™‚

  5. I think these are great goals, but a lot to try and do all in one month! Don’t be too hard on yourself if you don’t accomplish them all. Maybe focus on one for 5 days, another for 5 days etc. etc. πŸ™‚

    Good luck! Especially with the budget one. I am *still* trying to figure out the best way to do this.

  6. I’m with you on number 4. My main problem is entertainment. I go out of my way for a movie, book, show, dinner, drinks, etc. Maybe the too much fun in my plans are the reason why I can’t seem to save. Ah. The horror.
    – DO SOMETHING OUT OF THE ORDINARY. I’m a strong supported of this GOAL. DO IT!!

    Love your blog. Glad we are now following each other. Also, can’t wait to start reading the book everyone voted for. I sort of really wanted to read Divergent, too. Must. Fit. It. All. Have you read Divergent? It sounds interesting.
    Best

  7. I skipped NaNoWriMo this year as well. I just had too much going on with the event I was volunteering at. However, I love that you’re doing NaBloPoMo instead. I think that sounds like a fun task to complete!

    November is about organizing for me! Here’s hoping!

Leave a Reply

