The right kind of weekend

Standard

This weekend was just what I needed. I rarely do weekend re-caps, but every once in a while it’s nice to write a post catching up on life!

Friday: I had the most lovely, unproductive Friday off. I really MEANT to get lots of homework done, but let’s be real here. It was Friday and I just didn’t want to. Instead, I watched some Grey’s Anatomy, Big Bang Theory, and Castle. Later in the afternoon I started to feel more productive and worked on an essay, but I promise you that didn’t last too long. After dinner with my neighbor and her cute 6 year old son, I went out for a MUCH needed girls’ night with my friend from work. She’s one of my favorite ladies to chat and gossip with, and it had just been too long since we sat down and TALKED. We spent three hours eating pie and just catching up on life, and it was really great!

Key lime pie is my favorite! Via Instagram.

Saturday: After working 9:30-5 on a busy, BUSY day, I got ready really quickly & headed to a HUGE family dinner. My great uncle (I just call him uncle though) turned 90 and my great-aunt (his sister) organized this amazing celebration for him. Over 100 people showed up and that didn’t surprise me one bit. He’s such an amazing man, and at 90 years old he is still quite active and basically an awesome dude.

Me and my uncle last Christmas. Is he not just adorable? He insisted on this photo because he loved what I was wearing. I could just squish him! Hehe πŸ™‚

I didn’t know very many people at the dinner to be honest, but I sat with my brother, sister-in-law, baby nephew, my cousin (who I’m close with) & her boyfriend, and we had the best time. I met a lot of family that I didn’t really know, and of course got to hang out with my awesome uncle. Overall, the night ended up being AMAZING. It was a really expensive dinner which stressed me out a bit (because I am so broke), but without even telling me, my brother picked up my tab. I got to enjoy some super yummy food, an amazing dessert, and a few glasses of wine and really had the best time. I needed a drink, and I needed some quality family time. Just what the doctor ordered after a stressful few weeks in school!

The restaurant was kind of dark, but I had to catch a picture of my growing nephew. He’ll be 4 weeks old tomorrow, and he’s gained just over 2 pounds since he was born! He is all kinds of cute. Love him. πŸ™‚

My dessert! Something in French called ‘CrΓ¨me brΓ»lΓ©e‘ which is quite literally the most delicious thing EVER.Β 

Unfortunately I was having too much fun drinking wine and hanging out with my family to take pictures. So sad! I did however remember to tweet a couple times. A few highlights:

Truth!

A little bit more truth! Seriously, I haven’t had a drink in over 2 months- Wine? Calmed me right down. Plus I totally slept like a baby that night!Β 

One of my favorite moments of the night was this conversation with my Uncle. He is so full of love and humanity, it’s inspiring.Β 

Sunday: After an unfortunate 7am wake-up and 9am work meeting, I came back home and got my homework right out. I worked on various projects throughout the afternoon & evening, took a break to watch the season TWO finale of Castle (Agh! Can Castle and Beckett just date already?!) and then studied for the rest of the night. My neighbor also left us her 3 year old golden retriever for the week while she hangs out in Florida (why didn’t she bring me?!) so I had lots of cuddles while I tried to motivate myself during the day!

I told you, she’s a cutie!Β 

They’re the best of friends!Β 

The last thing I wanted to mention was that I started working on Project 365 again this week, which I’m really excited about. I’m taking a page out of Amber‘s book and posting my photos to Facebook every day instead of on here, and so far it’s been a lot of fun! I’m hoping that the third time is a charm and I stick to it this time. That’s all for me! All in all, a weekend with the perfect mix of work, fun, relaxation and homework. I could definitely get used to this!

How did your weekend go? Did you do anything exciting or inspiring?

11 responses »

  1. That is SUCH a cute photo of you and your uncle!!

    You had such a full, happy weekend. πŸ™‚ I’m so glad it was a good one.

    I’m thinking of starting Project 365 the day after my birthday to document my 24th (or 25th, whatever) year. I think it’ll be easier this time around since I have an iPhone. My Blackberry’s camera was so crappy, I barely took photos from it. I’m just trying to decide where to post the photos. I liked doing the weekly blog recap so I may go back to that.

    • I find that in the past when I tried Project 365 I was too strict about what kind of pictures I wanted it to include, and I was picky about the quality too. This time around, I’m having a lot of fun taking pictures with my iPhone & just mixing it up depending on where I am. It’s also been SUPER easy uploading them to Facebook for me and I’ve inspired so many of my friends to follow along which is fun! I found I was frustrated trying to do weekly posts with pictures even though the posts turned out really nice. So far, I’m just trying to have fun with it- I think you should try again & post your pics however works best for you! If it’s on your blog then for sure do it that way πŸ™‚

    • You stuck through the project for the whole year?! That’s so awesome! I really hope I make it work for a whole year. I kind of started it spurr of the moment, like on a random day of the week, because I just wanted to do it haha. Dec 31st is a really great day for it to end though! Congrats on almost getting to the end of yours πŸ™‚

    • I’ve tried Project 365 in so many different ways, Facebook is my newest attempt. A blog just for that is a cool idea though! It’s just so easy to upload pics to FB so I figured why not? I’m determined to finish it one day lol! Maybe third time’s a charm?

  2. In San Francisco there is a traveling food card called the Creme Brulee cart where you can get all sorts of fun flavors of Creme Brulee. I usually don’t go for chocolate and the like, but when it has a sugar coated top it’s hard to resist.

    PS – Adorbs nephew!!!

Leave a Reply

