#102 On… Posting Every Day

Standard

{source}

This month, I vowed to participate in NaBloPoMo because I knew I wouldn’t have time for NaNoWriMo, which I’d been looking forward to for quite some time. It went pretty well for two weeks, although by the end of the second week it was getting really difficult to make enough time to blog. In theory, blogging every day is awesome. But realistically? It’s unrealistic.

Last January, I started to participate in the WordPress ‘Post A Day’ Challenge. It was the 102nd goal to go on my 101 in 1,001 list, and in the last 10 months, I have posted nearly every single day. There are some months where I missed a few days here and there, but in the 4 years I’ve blogged here, I more than DOUBLED my posts this year alone. That is kind of amazing. 

Before starting to post (almost) every day, I didn’t really understand the blog world. I blogged as an outlet for my every day life- I’ve simply always loved to write and keep track of time somehow. In the last year or two, this little place of mine has developed into something I never would have imagined. My writing interested people; people who started to follow my blog, people I’d like to say are like real friends to me now.

I took the last two days off blogging because I simply did not have the time, inspiration, or energy to write. I know that the point of posting every day is to force my brain into writing overdrive, but there are some days where that is just counter-productive. Also? I had a lot of homework to do. I really wanted to get back into writing every day with NaBloPoMo, but as I think about it now I realize that with school, work, and the little bit of social life I can muster… It’s just not always possible. Sometimes I’m too busy living life to write about it. 

The mix of NaBloPoMo and Post A Day 2011 have taught me many things about blogging.

First, it is only by writing regularly that you will become better at it.

Second, there is no point in feeling guilty about taking a day (or two, or three) off blogging. As much as I would love to take an hour a day to come up with something to write about, it’s just NOT always possible. I won’t always have that kind of time.

Third, although I love this little place of mine, priorities always come first. I often made blogging a priority in my life before doing other things, and I realize that’s not right. I have a lot of other things that are very important to do, and by posting every day I would lose sight of that at times.

Fourth, it’s quality, not quantity. I discovered that there were some days I would write just to WRITE. Anything, everything. Sometimes it’s nice to just write whatever comes to mind- I love writing rambling-ish posts- but more often than not they were fillers on days that I was feeling completely uninspired. Those should be blog-rest days

Fifth, posting on weekends is a tricky situation. I love to write for myself, don’t get me wrong, but readers don’t come around so much on Saturdays and Sundays. As fun as it is to write, it’s also fun  to get feedback on your work. It would be more ideal to use my free weekend time to SCHEDULE posts, rather than to publish them right then and there. That way I can be more sure that I’ll have quality writing and it will get some of the attention it (hopefully) deserves!

I still have just over a month to try and post as many days as possible, but I wanted to take a minute to reflect on the journey that it’s been to try and accomplish this goal. It’s been a hit and a miss; NaBloPoMo definitely hasn’t worked out as well as I would have liked, but Post A Day 2011 has been such an amazing experience for me. I think I’ve become an entirely new writer because of it and I already consider that goal accomplished, even though there won’t be 365 posts in 2011. 

I still have an infinite amount of lessons to learn about blogging, writing and prioritizing. I hate *giving up* on goals, so admitting defeat on NaBloPoMo (among other things this month) is not easy for me, but I don’t regret it one bit. I’ve loved getting to know myself by pushing to find inspiration in every day life. I can’t wait to use all of the things I learned in a new year of blogging in 2012. I have great things in mind, and I can’t wait to hopefully continue to grow as a blogger here!

What has blogging taught you as a writer?

7 responses »

  1. I agree 100% with your first point: you grow to be a better writer by WRITING and it’s obvious from you’re blog that you’re a good writer: you’re very eloquent when it comes to expressing yourself.

    And i know what you mean about the unrealistic-ness of NaBloPoMo because I’m running into similar thing with NaNoWriMo! It’s why I built a “cushion” early on because there have been so many days that I just didn’t feel like writing! Even if I *can* bang out 1000 words in an hour, I just didn’t feel like it!

  2. Posting every single day is hard. For me, it’s even hard to do five times a week, especially coming up with good, quality content on those five days. I think you do a really good job of keeping your content fresh and inspired. I know a LOT of bloggers who blog every day but many times, it’ll be just a few sentences or a picture and feels very contrived.

  3. This is a great post! I agree that blogging has helped me grow with my writing in a really interesting way, and also that a few days off is absolutely necessary! ❤

  4. First off all congratulations. I only managed 12 days of daily posts. you’ve managed to almost complete NaBloPoMo every month. that’s truly amazing, especially when you consider the quality of your content.
    Melissa you recently inspired me to attempt NaBloPoMo which although i failed, helped me feel more like a writer than i did originally. it is your amazing content that has encouraged me to turn my bucket list blog into more of a personal blog, expanding on the range of my content.
    regardless of traffic, subscribers or comments, your blog is a success because of the relationship you build with each reader through your writing.

  5. I am wholly impressed by the number of posts you have written this year – and they’re so wonderfully written. It’s great when “little” challenges lead to learning lessons.

  6. One of my goals on my last 101 was to post every day for a month. It nigh unto killed me. Right now I don’t have internet at home, so I’m lucky to get up 2 posts a week. I’m actually a bit behind with content, which is great because usually I don’t have a lot to post since I *try* to keep my blog oriented around my 101. Because of that, I don’t post unless I have something on-topic to say (aside from an occasional meme or personal update). I made a conscious decision to limit what I will post, so without more introspective posts to resort to sometimes it’s a week between posts for me. I’ve been blogging since 2005 and to be honest, I’m not sure if it’s made me a better writer. It’s definitely introduced me to different styles of writing that I wouldn’t naturally seek out. And I think it’s helped me to “loosen up” with my writing and be more spontaneous…but other than that…hm. Food for thought 🙂

Leave a Reply

