Live Inspired & Embrace a Passion

Standard

In September, I had the opportunity to guest post over on Kendra‘s blog about embracing your passion- a post that I had so much fun writing, I thought I would change it a little bit and share it with you over here.

When I was 18 and 19 years old I wish someone had sat me down and asked me the simple question “what do you love?”

Maybe someone did. I do vaguely remember my older brother trying to get me to focus on my future and to find something that I am passionate about. Life throws you so many curve-balls; sometimes at that age (and even in your twenties) it’s hard to remember what direction you’re headed in. At the time, I wasn’t necessarily ready to listen to his brotherly wisdom, but I wish I’d opened my heart a little more. I was just too busy trying to be me.

So I just want to take a few minutes of your time to remind you how to stay inspired in your life and to continue following your dreams. In my opinion, there is almost nothing as important as pursuing a passion.

First of all, what is the one thing that you cannot imagine your life without? I’m lucky enough to have discovered that I have a few: reading, writing, music, travel. There is virtually nothing more important to me in terms of hobbies. Funny enough, it took me some time to pinpoint those four things.

Second, are you living and breathing your passion? Are you doing everything you can to make sure that this hobby of yours has the opportunity to grow into something you can do for the rest of your life? I’m learning how to combine all my favorite things. I work in a bookstore, I take part in monthly conference calls with publishing companies to make sure I’m at the top of my game, I read book blogs & keep up to date with everything that comes out. I read each and every single day- even when I think I’m too tired.
I also go to so many concerts it would make your head spin. I try to meet the right people that can help me one day if I need it. I write for a music magazine- for free. But in doing so, I’m combining my passions. I not only get to write for a published online website, but I get to interview and talk about some of my favorite bands. I read music blogs, I keep up to date with more than my fair share of music news websites, I make sure I know what’s going on in my city when it comes to the music scene. I read books about music regularly. My favorite? Biographies on musicians who made their passions come to life through trial and error.
Finally, I blog every single day. I almost never miss a day because I want to keep pushing myself to feel inspired every time I wake up. The best part is I do all of these things because I want to do them. I will never settle for a job, even a part-time student one that I am not proud of.

Third and finally, are you embracing your passion? Are you letting the universe know where you want to be in 5 or 10 years from now? I spent a long time trying to be someone I’m not. I wanted everyone to like me so I would put on a face that I thought people would like. The worst part is that if you wear your mask for too long, you begin to believe it. But who does that make you, really? Now, I’m not ashamed of it. I’m kind of (book) nerdy, but I have no idea who said that was a bad thing. One of my favorite authors, John Green, he’s kind of a spokesperson for people like me, like you. He once said the following:

“Saying ‘I notice you’re a nerd’ is like saying, ‘Hey, I notice that you’d rather be intelligent than be stupid, that you’d rather be thoughtful than be vapid, that you believe that there are things that matter more than the arrest record of Lindsay Lohan. Why is that?’ In fact, it seems to me that most contemporary insults are pretty lame. Even ‘lame’ is kind of lame. Saying ‘You’re lame’ is like saying ‘You walk with a limp.’ Yeah, whatever, so does 50 Cent, and he’s done all right for himself.”

And isn’t that so true? I don’t know about you, but when a world renown author manages to become famous by being himself, I begin to believe it.

I hope that if you’re not already pursuing what you love, these last thousand words will convince you to take a minute and think of who you are and who you want to be. Even if your passion is something completely random and out of the ordinary, I hope you’re embracing it. I hope it’s the constant in YOUR life, the thing that keeps you grounded. Live inspired.

6 responses »

  1. Melissa I feel the same way and wish that someone had had this conversation with me at 18, 21 and 25 not turn 30 and start trying to work out what my passion in life is. Now that I’m trying to discover my passion(s) I will be doing everything I can to help my children do the same early. I want to teach my children to create their own path in life guided by their passions.
    It’s another inspiring post Melissa and one I would recommend that a lot of people need to read.

  2. I really needed to read this today. I’ve given up on a lot of my passions as things have gotten hard over the past year, and it’s really a shame. Time to get back to the things I love!

  3. Oh, you can’t know how badly I needed to read this today. Yes, I am following my passion, but I do let it get lost and confused along the way. When I got married I inherited two wonderful stepdaughters, and having this family – while wonderful – makes it even harder to pursue the passions that are mine. Sometimes I can get lost in their passions, instead. I need to re-find that balance, to do everything to help them achieve their dreams, while also wholeheartedly pursuing mine. I have struggled with the idea that this would make me selfish, but now I think that maybe it would make me a good role model. I need to get back on track, and your words were exactly the impetus I needed. THANK YOU MELISSA.

  4. This is such a great post, Melissa!

    I know I am not living out my passion but I think I’m also just on my way to exploring my passions and how I want to use them in life. And there’s also fear holding me back from fully chasing after them because what if I’m not good enough for my passions? What if my passions are too big for reality?

    We tell ourselves a lot of lies in life and I think fear is what ultimately keeps so many people from living out their passions. Or at least, in my case it does.

Leave a Reply

