November/December Goals

Standard

I’m running a little bit late with my usual November Goals wrap-up and my December Goals post, so I thought that this month I’d just put them both together because a) I am so exhausted and b) I have so much to do for school!

November: A Review

Last month wasn’t what I was expecting at all, but at the same time it was EXACTLY what I knew it would be. Confusing, I know. I didn’t set myself up with very strict goals because I had a feeling school would get the best of me and I just wouldn’t have the time to do a whole lot. I still tried to do a few things here and there, but I was basically right. University sucks up ALL my time. Here were my goals:

1. Participate in NaBloPoMo [instead of NaNoWriMo]. Not completed. I tried, and I got just past the two-week mark. Plus, I think I got some great posts in there… But sadly after two weeks I realized how ambitious this goal was with school. I was having a lot of trouble finding the time to write every day, and more often than not it was stressing me out more. I’m not upset at all about not accomplishing this one, I know I did my best!

2. Blog once a week about health/fitness. Completed! I’m quite impressed with myself for completing this one, actually. It was a LOT of fun. It turns out I have health-like things to say and you guys have such amazing things to contribute to those posts which makes it even more fun. I’ll definitely make an effort to blog more about it.

3.  Don’t leave any homework to the last minute. Completed! Well, more or less. The only thing I’d leave to the last minute was reading, but only when I knew it would get done. I have almost 3 hours of travel on buses when I go to school and that is where I get my best reading done. I would often use that time as I headed to class to read, which makes sense. Other than that I’ve really gotten better about procrastinating- that doesn’t mean I don’t do it- I just don’t leave it to the last minute as I so often do!

4. Track my spending habits for my budget. Total fail. I tracked my spending for about a week and gave up entirely. Then, I just stopped trying. I felt guilty at first because Stephany was helping to hold me accountable with some regular e-mails… But we agreed (well, she had the idea and I liked it enough to follow suit) that 2012 is a good place to start fresh with budgeting. As it is, I’m already incredibly stressed out with Christmas. I can’t handle tracking my money AND attempting to buy gifts for everyone. I’m already planning some New Year’s Resolutions and budgeting is right up there!

5. Do something out of the ordinary. Completed! I definitely made an effort to do things that were out of the ordinary. Even if it meant going out randomly one evening when I wasn’t originally planning to… That counted for me. It was just nice to get out a little bit more, and I never regret a good time with friends (or family!)

All in all, November wasn’t too awful. I didn’t set myself up with anything too crazy because I knew that this would be enough with school and work and life. I’m not going crazy on goals for the rest of the year because honestly? School has been a lot to handle these last few months and I just want to RELAX. I want to complete goals because they make me happy, not because I feel obligated. So the ones I complete? I’m just going to feel good about them. 2011 is almost over and I’ve done a lot this year- I realize that now, especially thanks to some of your amazing comments over the last 11 months- so this last little bit of the year is just spent making sure everything ends off on a good note.

December: The Goals

This month is going to be half crazy and… No basically just all crazy. I have two finals in a week, and 2 more a week later. After that it’s going to be Christmas & family time, and then back to school on January 2nd. Seriously, nonstop. No wonder we get 4 months off as University students, WE NEED IT. Here’s what I’d love to do in December:

1. Give 100% of myself to all of my finals. I want to finish my semester off in the best way that I can. That means no putting them off, studying as often as I can find the time to, and not doing anything last minute. I have a ton of time to study and write my final essays; I want to make the best of that time that I can.

2. Get in some quality reading time. October/November was a lot of school reading, which I’m not used to. I read a few books *just for fun* but I miss just sitting with a good book. I’d love to get back to that in my time off!

3. Try, as best I can, to finish off my New Years Resolutions. I don’t think I have much left to do, just some reading and some 101 goals. I’m not sure how much of that I’ll be able to do in 4 weeks, but I think it’s time to make a list and see what I can cross off!

4. Get into the Christmas spirit before December 24th. In my last post I wrote how my job can ruin the holidays for me a little bit, but this year on top of school and work, I could use some holiday cheer. I want to make an effort to really get into the swing of things with friends and family! Maybe do my Christmas shopping before the last minute? Miracles could happen!

5. Complete the “little things” post that I keep meaning to do (and steal) from Stephany. One little thing each day that made me happy & blog about it at the end of the month. I may do something with my Project 365 on this one. Did I mention I started that again? It’s on my Facebook, we can be friends there and you can see how I’m doing 🙂

6. Do my first vlog. I was supposed to do this to finish off NaBloPoMo, but since I didn’t finish it and basically haven’t had time this week to do it, it’ll be sometime in the next week or two. Hopefully. Definitely this month.

That’s all I can think of right now. I think this gives me a ton to do in just 31 days, but I’m up for it. I’m excited about December this year, that almost never happens!

What are your goals this month?

4 responses »

  1. Well done on the progress that you made with your November goals. I’m still really looking forward to seeing you complete your December goal of doing your first Vlog. I’ve been thinking a lot about goal setting recently and have a post for later today, which turns my view of 101 things on its head.

  2. Yay for doing an Everyday Moments post! They can be a lot to keep up with but I enjoy them so much, too! It’s a fun way to look back on the month.

    I’m also bring back Project 365 Saturday posts. Hopefully, with my iPhone, it will go a lot more smoothly. It’s a lot to keep up with, but I’m going to try it again!

  3. I’m so far behind on my 2011 goals and little chance I’ll actually get them accomplished now, but that’ll just get me all the more excited in preparing my 2012 goals (well at least that’s what I’m telling myself). 🙂

    Way to go on your November and December goals! You’re rocking it.

Leave a Reply

