The Best Books of 2011

Standard

As 2012 gets closer, I thought it would be fun to look back at some of my favorite things of the year. In the next few days I’m going to look at the best of 2011- I’m excited to see what kind of things you can all add to my lists! Oh and if you’re wondering, that is the current state of my ‘to-read’ bookshelf. I have an illness, you guys. A book-buying ILLNESS.

Today I’m going to look back at my top ten favorite reads of 2011. I tried as much as possible to keep these in 2011 because I read way too many good books this year, but I have to say that my absolute favorites of 2011 were not written this year. I’m also going to look at a few books that DID come out this year that I’m still excited to actually start reading but haven’t had the chance to yet.

So here we go.

The Top Ten

#10 Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares
Released: June 2011
Publisher: Random House

Why: I LOVED the entire Sisterhood series growing up, and after re-reading them in the early summer I fell right into the story of this one. I was back in love with the four girls, and I am back in love with Ann Brashares’ writing. She has matured so much as a writer, and although that book DEVASTATED me it was beautiful at the same time.

#9 The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Released: April 2011
Publisher: Penguin Group

Why: It took me a little while to get into this one, but as soon as I did I just couldn’t put it down. I was completely in love with the characters and the story. Immediate classic.

#8 Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Released: February 2011
Publisher: Harpercollins

Why: When I first heard about the story line behind this book (love as a disease) I was intrigued. The book did not let me down in the least and I can’t WAIT for book two!

#7 Divergent by Veronica Roth
Released: May 2011
Publisher: HarperCollins

Why: I was completely captivated by this book from start to finish. Love the dystopian aspect to this book, it reminds me of all my favorite parts of every other dystopian novel I love.

#6 Room by Emma Donoghue
Released: June 2011
Publisher: HarperCollins

Why: I don’t usually pursue a book that doesn’t immediately attract my attention, and this one took a good 25-30% of the story before I realized how good it actually was. It was one of those books that I read while I ate, while I got ready to go out, and basically any free moment I had until it was done.

#5 Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson
Released: April 2011
Publisher: HarperCollins

Why: I read the first book in this series soon after coming home from Greece, and this book brought me right back to Europe and everything I loved about it. I immediately picked up the second book and was so happy with the way the story turned out! I was really glad to hear that there was a second book because I definitely didn’t have enough after ’13 Little Blue Envelopes’

#4 The Death Cure by James Dashner
Released: October 2011
Publisher: Random House

Why: If you haven’t read The Maze Runner (book one in the trilogy) then you SHOULD BE. One of my favorite YA series right now. This was an amazing ending to it. There were some points that I felt the book was a little bit too apocalyptic, but the ending? Wow. Just, wow.

#3 My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares
Released: June 2011
Publisher: Penguin Group

Why: I’m not a huge fan of romance novel, but this one? I am in LOVE with this love story. Once again, Ann Brashares writes a beautiful, believable and fantastical story that had me literally ignoring my friends during the last hundred or so pages. LOVE. Can’t wait for book two!

#2 Looking for Alaska by John Green
Released: September 2008
Publisher: Pengruin Group

Why: I went through a crazy John Green phase at the beginning of the year, but Looking for Alaska was the first book I read by him and has remained my favorite. I love the way he writes, and I love the quirky behaviors that each of his characters has.

#1 The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Released: September 2007
Publisher: Random House

Why: This book was just amazing. One of the bigger novels I’ve ever read, but probably changed my life. I need to re-read this in the New Year. And if you haven’t read it? It is the most beautifully written story from World War II that I have ever read. Ever.

On the ‘To-Read’ Shelf’ Published in 2011

#6 The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

#5 The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

#4 Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare (paperback)

#3 The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

#2 Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick

#1 Matched by Ally Condie

Most Anticipated Reads in 2012 (so far)

#5 Insurgent by Veronica Roth

#4 City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

#3 Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

#2 The Kill Order by James Dashner

#1 The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I’ve come to an important conclusion. 2011 was the year that I realized how much I adore young adult literature. Seriously, I read SO much more of it now than I read adult books, and as I browsed the upcoming adult books, there are almost none that interested me. Ha! I mean, I have a few of my favorite adult authors, but otherwise I read the bestsellers and just teen books.

What were your favorites of the year? What about your most anticipated? Which books did I miss this year? 

10 responses »

  1. I loved “The Help” – one of the best reads of 2011 for me.

    “The Book Thief” is on my iPad ready to read.

    Speaking of young adult lit – I’ve heard a lot of good stuff about “The Hunger Games”

    Cheers!

  2. Soooo…me, you, and Lisa ALL did favorite books of 2011 posts today. HA! How funny is that?!

    The Help was my most favorite book I’ve read this year. So, so good. In 2012, I really need to read the Hunger Games trilogy (I KNOW!) and I want to read Divergent but I think I’ll wait until her new one comes out so I don’t have to wait. Ha. I also want to read more YA novels. I got somewhat into it this year but not as much as I would have liked.

  3. Great list! I enjoy mostly YA too. I’m currently reading Delirium & I’m loving it.
    Oh & the Book Thief! Just amazing. Makes me want to read it again.
    I also have a book buying problem. I have a shelf full, but then I tend to just buy books on my Kindle. lol

  4. For Young Adult, I read the Hunger Games series and I think that was my favorite book for 2011. I have really enjoyed the Chaos walking series as well. As far as other books, I loved Just Kids and burned through The Glass Castle and I’m still working on the Pearl Jam 20 book (it’s huge!).

  5. I love that you have “Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson” on your list! I discovered the first book a while ago when I managed to download it onto my iPad through Kindle and think I read it in 1 sitting. When I realised that there was a follow up, I almost cried! I have it downloaded and ready to go .. I am saving it for this weekend (I don’t really ‘do’ New Years Eve) and will read it with glee in fron of the fire at home!

    I also LOVED “Room by Emma Donoghue”. I got into it right away but had to pause a lot to get my hear round the language used, but also the deepness of the storyline .. you happily go along with it all and then when you pause to think about it, it sends shivers down your spine. Excellently written though.

    You’ve also given me a couple of books to ad to the ‘to try’ list ..!

  6. The Help was the same for me! Took me a while to get into, but by the end I was enthralled!

    Great list. (I am such a sucker for YA lit. It’s just amazing.)

    Happy reading in 2012! 🙂

Leave a Reply

