2011 Concerts

Standard

I’m having so much fun reviewing my favorites of the year, I thought I’d keep going with my favorite concerts of 2011! This year I went to a lot less than I have in previous years, but I definitely made them count. There’s almost nothing I love more than live music, so it makes me kind of sad to think of all the great shows I missed out on this year, but I had to focus on saving for my vacations, not to mention I was so caught up with school.

That being said, there are five shows that really stood out for me in 2011, and I can’t wait to see all these artists again someday.

#5 Rihanna with Cee Lo Green
June 11th 2011 

When Rihanna first started singing, ,I’ll be honest: I really didn’t like her. But then she had to go and release the song “Umbrella” which I pretended to hate for a little while, and then I just admitted that it was the catchiest possibly ever. Since then, I’ve fully embraced my love for this girl. Let’s just say it: she’s freaking AWESOME.

I always said that if I had the chance to see her I live, I’d do it in a heartbeat. It’s no surprise that when she announced two back to back nights in Montreal this past June, I was there with two of my best friends. She wore the craziest outfits and sang or two straight hours. Not to mention DRAKE made an appearance. I would go back and see her instantly! So glad I can finally say I’ve seen Rihanna live after this year, it’s been a long time coming.

#4 NKOTBSB with Matthew Morrisson
August  5th 2011

  

I’ve been a fan of Backstreet Boys since I’m 7 years old. I went through a phase where I *pretended* they weren’t cool anymore, but as I get older I just embrace those really weird quirks of mine. Like how I still love Backstreet Boys, and they will always, ALWAYS make me smile. Oh and Nick Carter will always make me swoon. Swoooooon.

I saw BSB a couple years ago for the first time in a decade and actually teared up when they hit the stage. I was so emotional about it and it brought back a TON of memories. When they announced the huge tour with The New Kids, I knew I wanted to be there. It took me forever, but I finally found two friends from work who were SUPER down to come along to the show and we had the BEST freaking time singing and hoping the Backstreet Boys would give us a rose on stage.

They didn’t. But that was still on hell of a memorable night.

Oh, I should also mention that I was never a fan of New Kids, but I REALLY enjoyed their performance that night. I kind of fell in love with Joey McIntyre, I’ll be honest! 

#3 Wakey! Wakey! 
May and October 2011 

  

Some people really hate on the show One Tree Hill, but I will never be one of them. I’ve followed the show since day ONE, when I was an awkward teenager who was a mix of Hayley and Peyton, pining over boys like Lucas Scott who was a book-nerd like I was. The show was never the same after Chad Michael Murray and Hilarie Burton left, but I still love so many things about that show. One of those things being the music it’s introduced me to.

Wakey! Wakey! frontman Mike Grubbs spent an entire season on the show and then at the end burst into a song called ‘Brooklyn’ on his piano, and I just knew it was love. I followed his music ever since, and when he announced that the band would be playing in Burlington, I jumped in a car with my two favorite road trip girls to see the band perform.

We went again in October when he FINALLY played a show in Montreal, and that was by far one of the best shows of the year. He played every single song he knew how to play on his piano because my city just loved him too much. I met him both times, and he might be one of the nicest, most genuine musicians ever. I can’t wait to see this band perform again and again and again.

And if you haven’t heard of them? Well, go check them out. It’s 100% worth it!

#2 Jimmy Eat World with Civil Twilight
June 2nd 2011

  

Jimmy Eat World is the music to my life. I listen to this band forever and always, basically at every point of my day. I’ve been a fan of this band since my early teen years, but it wasn’t until 2008 that I FINALLY saw them perform live. I hadn’t seen them since and I was missing them very much this year.

Then, they announced a date in Burlington and once again I hopped into a car (with three friends this time) and we had the BEST time at that show. JEW played a ton of the songs from their newest album, Invented, which is genius. I just love everything about them. I don’t know what more to say. I can’t wait to *hopefully* see them in 2012!

The photo with me in it is with the lead singer of Civil Twilight, who were amazing live & he was the nicest guy! We had a ton of fun meeting him!

#1 Mumford and Sons
October 27th 2011

I don’t have a big story about this band like I do for the rest. I just really love Mumford. I also think this show goes in my ALL TIME favorites, not just of 2011. It was THAT good. When can I see them again?

Next time I see them though I’d like to NOT forget my camera. I mean, Marcus Mumford in the same vicinity as me is something worth capturing! I love that man.

Notable: Augustana (May 2011) and Paramore (July 2011 @ Warped Tour). They were both amazing shows as well, and would have been in my top 10 had I made my list that long, ha 🙂

Did you see any good concerts in 2011? 

One response »

  1. I didn’t see a whole lot of live music either this year. I’m hoping to turn that around this year. I keep my fingers crossed that Radiohead is coming to my neighborhood this year.

Leave a Reply

