Goodbye, 2011!

Standard

Christmas 2010

I can’t believe that there is one day left in 2011. I feel like I just rang in the New Year, and yet here I am getting ready to do it again, surrounded by the ones I love most.

This year was a great year; it was filled with goals, changes, writing, school, traveling and celebrations. There were days filled with music, others filled with readings, many others involved lots of laughs with great friends. Finally there were the days that were planning for the future. 2011 was definitely good to me.

Two months ago I reviewed my New Year’s resolutions for 2011 and realized that I had basically accomplished them all in one way or another. I spent a lot of time learning how to work on goals in a way that benefits me the most this year, and I can’t wait to apply everything I’ve learned in 2012. I am so hopeful and excited for 2012, I’m bursting with anticipation to see what is to come. I feel like a different person who’s going into the new year with a clear idea of what I want to do and who I want to be, and I just want to make it all happen right away.

I’ll admit that I’ve slacked off in the last two months on my resolutions from 2011. They needed a *little* bit more work and I didn’t really put the effort that I needed in there. I think I was just too focused on school, work, and getting through the holidays to put any time into the things I really WANTED to do. Nonetheless, my goals deserve one last look-over so I can see exactly what I did and didn’t do.

1. Eat healthier. Half accomplished!
I’ve never been the healthiest eater, and even when I wrote this goal it was just one of those “well, it should be in my resolutions” kind of goal. I never imagined I’d actually make any changes, but I have! I will often pick the healthier snack over the less healthy one, but I still cheat way more than I’d like. Oh the plans I have for 2012, I’m so excited. But I definitely made good progress with this one.

2. Travel. Accomplished!
I think my very first trip to Europe (and Greece, of all places!) was a BIG moment for me. It really was a life changing experience, and opened my eyes to an entirely new world. I can’t wait to do more traveling, that’s for sure.

3. Achieve a 3.0 GPA in school or higher. Not accomplished.
I was so hopeful about this when I originally wrote it, but I have NO idea how I thought this was possible. I’ve been taking incredibly difficult and competitive courses for ME. I’ve tested myself in ways I could have never imagined, and it’s nowhere near over. My GPA isn’t a 3.0, but I’ve grown so much in University since writing this goal that I’m not upset in the least. I know I’ll get there one day.  

4. Stay more organized. Accomplished!
I remember when I wrote this goal, it was because I was the MOST forgetful person ever! I could hardly remember what my work schedule was. I’ve definitely made good use of the calendar in my iPhone and made sure to constantly keep up to date to-do lists. I think organization is always something that will be *in progress* for me, but I consider it accomplished because I am a significantly more organized person going into 2012!

5. Save money. Kind of accomplished?
This is a tough one because I know that I SAVED money, but I don’t actually have it anymore. I do have a lot of debt, but that’s because of all the traveling I’ve done in the last year, and the plans I’ve made to continue traveling in 2012. I hate having debt, and I know I’ve spent more than I should have, but I’ve been SO much better at not spending my money on useless things like I used to previously. Being able to spend three weeks in Europe is proof of that for sure… But yeah, I don’t have any *savings* so to speak right now.

6. Read 40 books or more. Accomplished!
My original goal for the year was 40, and I’m at about 55 for the year. This is HUGE for me because I’ve never read that much, ever. Even though I’ve always adored reading, I’ve never made THIS much time for it. I hope to even beat this goal in 2012, especially considering I had *technically* upped my number to 60. I’m not too upset about not reaching it though. Last year I read 31 books only, so the point behind this goal was accomplished: I made a ton more time for reading this year.

7. Cross off atleast 50 goals on my 101 goals in 1,001 days list. 2/3 Accomplished!
At the end of 2010, I was at 27 goals accomplished (I think?) and now I’m at 61 or so. That means I only crossed off about 35 goals, which isn’t awful but still NOT close to 50. I’m also not too upset about this because there are a lot of goals on my 101 list that I know I won’t do at all anymore, and I have my 23 Before 23 list to focus on this year. I’ve also got big plans for this next year, so yeah, not too sad about this!

8. Buy a camera and take more pictures. Accomplished!
I finally bought a new camera at the beginning of the summer after breaking 3 in a row (bad luck, I know). Not only have I been taking more pictures, but I’ve been keeping up with my latest Project 365 on my Facebook, and I’m now further (and more motivated to complete it) than ever before!  I take pictures every day with either my camera or my iPhone, so this goal has been thoroughly completed. 🙂

4 completed, 2 half completed, and one completed 2/3 of the way. This might be my most successful set of New Year’s resolutions EVER. I deserve a pat on the back, ha!

Mostly though, I’m excited to publish this post and properly set up what I want 2012 to look like. I’m going to put my new organization skills to the test, and I’ll share my plans for the New Year next week!

How did you do with your goals in 2011?

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like you had a very successful and productive 2011! Way to go! I didn’t really have any resolutions or goals so I’m not sure how well I did, but I did cross off 9 things on my 101 things list (so that’s not very impressive).

  2. You did good with your resolutions! I know it sucks being in debt but you took a trip of a LIFETIME and nothing compares to that. 🙂 And as long as you’re being mindful with your money now, then that’s what really matters. Baby steps.

    I can’t wait to see what 2012 holds for you. A meet-up for us, FOR SURE! Yay!

  3. Frankly, I am oh so impressed by both your resolutions and your success! I don’t think I made any resolutions last year, I just thought “what on earth will happen next?” I’ve been reflecting back on 2011 and when I make a list, it was HUGE and I can see why I’m so tired. But I’m going to take a leaf out of your book this year and set myself some goals for the coming year. Oh and happy new year – the sun is up on 2012 in Australia now! x

Leave a Reply

