2011; A Brief Review

Standard

I can’t believe it’s already the last day of 2011. Saying that this year has flown by would be an understatement for sure, but at the same time it feels like forever ago since I celebrated the end of 2010.

What could I possibly say about this year in just one single blog post? I feel like so much happened in the last twelve months, I wouldn’t even know where to start. I got to experience so many different things; so many highs and lows. I always get really nostalgic on the last day of the year, I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s a mixture of ending a time in my life I’ve grown comfortable in, but I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I’ll never be the person I am right now ever again. It’s so scary and so exciting at the same time.

The older I get, the more I’ve learned to appreciate all the little moments in life but even more so the bigger moments that don’t happen as often. In 2011 I had a few really GREAT times, and just like 2010 I want to take a few minutes to look back on them and reminisce a little.

—–

January: Spending three straight days with my two favorite road trip girls for the LAST time. We slept about 3 hours in total, went to a concert in Montreal and then in Ottawa, and partied a whole lot. I loved forgetting about my responsibilities for just a few days and having the time of my life with friends.

February: Celebrating Valentine’s day at my place with my best girls. They make the crappy-single holidays a LOT better, and honestly? I just love celebrating every single holiday with them. It’s become one of my favorite traditions!

April: Not only did I book the trip of a lifetime (Greece) but I spent many nights with my girls from April straight through to July planning it. A huge part of the vacation for me was all the extra time we got to spend together booking hotels and discovering more about a country that we’d later all fall in love with!

I also had the most EPIC girls’ night with a bunch of ladies from work in April just as exams ended. We pretended to be a group from a bachelorette party and we partied like crazy until the next morning. This is super out of character for me, but I had so much fun. We have plans to do it again ASAP!ย 

May: I didn’t got many concerts in 2011, but I did get to see one of my favorite bands in May for the first time in 3 years. I love Augustana and they put on an amazing show. Not to mention I had a lot of fun with the people I went with.

I also finally went on another road trip with my girls- 4 months might be a record for us? We went to see Wakey! Wakey! in Burlington and it was an unforgettable show for sure.

June: I got to see Rihanna live in concert after many years of saying I would. Yay!

ย I also visited the Biodome, a big attraction that features four kinds of animal wildlife in one big building. I celebrated my friends’ birthday on a beautiful summer day, and I had one of my absolute favorite interviews to-date, with Owl City. LOVE him.

July: My birthday month! I had an absolutely amazing birthday this year. One of my ex-coworkers threw a celebration in my honor at her apartment, and decorated the entire place especially for me. The next day I had a brunch with my friends, and then I spent some time with family. I felt so loved ๐Ÿ™‚

August: I spent three weeks in Greece with three of my best friends! This was definitely one of my top three highlights of the year ๐Ÿ™‚

September: I attended my sister-in-law’s baby shower, I got to see The New Cities- a band I’ve been following ever since they first got together- release their second full length album on a major record label, and I took a vow to become a more honest blogger.

October: I welcomed my nephew into the world on October 18th and have fallen more in love with him each and every single day! I remember when he first got here how surreal it felt, and the first day before I met him I couldn’t actually BELIEVE he existed. Now? I can’t imagine my life without him there.

November: I got out of my weird mood that I’d been in ever since getting home from Greece. I finally started to see life clearly and happily again. I consider that really important, and I think it’s partially due to the fact that I was so happy to have my nephew around! I also went out for the first time in AGES, it was my great uncle’s 90th birthday and the ENTIRE family was there. I drank lots of wine with my cousins and just had the best time.

Oh, and lastly, I got to see Hedley again for the first time in over a year! I missed them terribly, and I loved seeing them perform some of the tracks of their newest album.

December: I got paid for my very first writing gig (it was a blog post, but still! I have to start somewhere right?) and I’ve had the chance to spend a ton of time with family because of the holidays. I couldn’t ask for a better way to end off the year.

And there you have it, another year gone by in the blink of an eye & I couldn’t be more excited to see what’s next.

Happy New Year’s Eve! I’ll see you all in 2012 ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

