12 Changes: January

Standard

Now that the holidays are really and truly over, it’s time to get started with my monthly goals again! It feels like all I’m writing about these days are goals, but I promise I’m done until February 🙂

My personal 12 Changes project is based around Gretchen Rubin’s book ‘The Happiness Project’. Each month I’m going to focus on one area of my life that I want to improve, setting specific goals in that month to achieve and then hopefully applying some of the things I’ve learned for the rest of the year.

First up in January is, of course, health. There is nothing more important these days with all the junk food that’s out there to be enjoyed. I’m really excited because I managed to give myself 4 goals for the month that are part of my other lists of goals. It’s like hitting three birds with one stone, ha!

I’m really trying to make my monthly goals revolve around this project so that I can get the most out of it as possible- and have fun too!! I’ve been meaning to just take some time to focus on eating healthier and feeling better about myself, and I figured that January is the best month to do it because that’s when I’m most motivated to cross off goals.

My goals are all organized out on paper for me to be able to see each and every single day. I have reminders for myself as well; I thought that by writing it all down the old fashioned way I might feel more committed to remembering what I want to do.

Why 4 goals? I have no idea. I like the number, and I like that there are usually 4 weeks to a month. It feels achievable. Especially for health month, there were a million things that I wanted to write as goals, but I’m hoping that I can be mindful enough to do the extra little things without actually writing them down.

January is a test. I’m anxious to see how I pull through by the end of it, but most of all I just want to detox from bad food this month so that I can start feeling better from here on out! I’m hoping this whole thing doesn’t sound TOO ambitious, but I’ll just have to see how it works for me for now and improve on the aspects that I don’t enjoy after month one!

What are your goals for January? Are you participating in 12 Changes?

15 responses »

  1. I really love how you’re doing 12 Changes, because I think you’re going to see SO MUCH change from it. I’ve wanted to try vegetarianism for a week, but when I brought it up to my mom she gave me a firm NO. Ha! I’m going to try to talk her into it, hehe. I think it would be a good experiment! I hope you talk this one up on your blog. 🙂

    Love your little reminders, too. So perfect! I’ve been wanting to put up “power messages” throughout the house. That may be a project for me!

  2. i think tonight i’m going to sit down and actually think about my goals for the year and for the month, it’s nice to break them down. good luck with yours!!

  3. This is awesome. I have a “no junk food” month plan as well. Not sure when I’m going to do it, but I definitely want to! This month is my drink more water month. I gave up 90-95% of my caffeine intake, I can do it with junk food! (for a month. This girl needs her potato chips and cookies.)

  4. I think writing goals down on paper really does help. It’s a daily reminder and helps your goals and ideas stick in your brain! Good luck!

  5. january is the month of health. i hope your goals do become habot for you. my goal for january is to reduce the time that I’m blogging as I was seriously becoming addicted.

  6. Awesome! Great goals! 🙂

    I’m on day seven of a food diary – so far, I love it! I’m veryveryvery accountable for what I eat (and do, I’m including fitness in my entries) and writing things down makes me think long and hard about “cheating.” Keeping healthy snacks on hand is a super idea, too!

    Go here: http://allwomenstalk.com/ Some of it is ridiculous, but they have some awesome healthy-eating tips and such. 🙂

    Good luck, lady! You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

