First weekend of 2012

Standard

Weekends in my life are often filled with more work or homework than anything else, so when I manage to mix it up a little, I’m so so happy. This was one of those weekends, and it looked something like this:

Thursday: After work I met up with my friend Melanie for a lovely evening of shopping, dinner, and relaxing at my place. She got me into the show Big Love WAY BACK when it first started, and we had promised each other we’d watch the SERIES finale together at the beginning of the summer. We never made the time for it, but she came over after shopping, I made us some hot chocolate and we finally finished watching the show together.

Me shopping for wine glasses (I was thinking of getting that big bowl as a wine glass, what do you think?!), some shared Thai food for dinner, and Mel hopelessly trying to park her parents’ van close to the curb at my house. Ha!Β 

Friday: I had the entire day off (yay!) and slept until almost 11am which felt AMAZING. At around one in the afternoon my brother came over to pick me up & we ended up spending almost the entire day together. This has only happened a few times in the last couple years, and I completely forgot to take lots of pictures! Besides pictures of my nephew because seriously he’s the cutest.

Healthy lunch courtesy of my sister-in-law!Β 

Playing on his Baby Einstein piano!Β 

Saturday: Although I worked all morning, I got to finish an hour early (hurray!) so that I could come home and finish wrapping presents for my belated Christmas party.

I celebrate every single holiday with my girls, and although we didn’t have time actually DURING Christmas-time, we made a point to get together this weekend. We spent the night taking pictures of ourselves in our ugly Christmas sweaters, eating a TON of food, playing some games, and of course opening PRESENTS πŸ™‚

The six of us in front of the Christmas tree! I’m 2nd from the right, sporting a lovely train/Christmas tree button up sweater!Β 

Sunday: Basically spent the whole day relaxing, catching up on TV, organizing some things in my room and all around being superbly lazy. It was fantastic! πŸ™‚ After dinner I headed over to my neighbors’ house and watched her 6 year old son, D, for a couple hours. He entertained me with about 5 different games in 2 hours, and then we read some books before I put him to sleep! Ended my night with some much needed reading time and, of course, one last mug of tea (gingerbread spice! So good!)

I drank tea nonstop all day, my friends got me 10 different kinds on Saturday night! Yummmyyy. πŸ™‚

Making snow cones with the Snoopy Sno Cone machine!Β 

How was your weekend? What did you get up to?

6 responses »

  1. Aw, what a fun weekend! I’m sure you know what I was up to this weekend – Orlando! πŸ™‚ It was a blast, aside from a few key moments that make me really, really sad. I love your ugly Christmas sweater, too! It rocks!!

  2. What a fun weekend! That’s awesome that you celebrate Christmas with your girlfriends! Love the ugly sweaters. πŸ˜‰

    My weekend was great. I flew in late Fri night so crashed when I got home. Sat I ran 8 miles, had lunch with some girlfriends, and studied. Sunday I studied. I got alot done, which is good as I want to take Sat/Sun off from studying when i am in Chicago!

  3. Girl I’m LOVING your photos! Is it instagram you’re using?? it’s like my daily fix. Also I LOVE the xmas jumpers, I just text my girls informing them we were going to invest in some cringeworthy ones for next year and i ESPECIALLY love the giant wine bowl – my kinda girl xx

Leave a Reply

