January: 2 weeks in

Standard

First off, I just want to say thank you to everyone who commented on my post last week about writing anxiety. It looks like there are a LOT more people out there than I realized who have the same worries and fears as I do, and that alone makes me feel better. So thank you for reaching out and letting me know I’m not totally crazy! 🙂

Second, have you entered my giveaway yet?! You can still do it here!

Today I wanted to take some time to review January so far. Every year, as December comes to a close & a New Year is just days away, I find myself having big hopes and ideas for the weeks to come. I always feel extra ambitious and set up all these goals and plans. Ideally, it’s at this time that I would accomplish the most because I am the most excited to make me a Better Me. But logically, that’s not quite what happens.

And so January is halfway through and I’m struggling a little bit with my goals, although not losing my motivation in the least. Saying that you’re going to DO something for the BETTER is one thing. But actually setting forth the actions to accomplish those somethings is an entirely different story. 

I currently have my list of 12 Changes up on my wall in a place that I can just look at them every day. Right next to that list, I have the goals I set myself up with for ‘health’ in January alongside the reminders like “10 minute rule” and “boredom does not equal hunger“. Many days in the last 2 weeks, it’s those rules that have prevented me from indulging when I knew I shouldn’t. But then there are the days where I pretend those papers aren’t on the wall at all, and I indulge anyway.

I’m only human, and I know mistakes happen, but I still feel really crappy when they do. Especially when I am my most ambitious and motivated Self.

These past two weeks, I have indulged, yes. But I have indulged only half as much as I normally would have. I made sure people were holding me accountable for my goals, because they are out in the open for everyone to see. My friends see them when they come over and questions ALWAYS come up, and I gladly oblige and explain to them what I’m doing (nervously, because I am a nervous person when it comes to sharing these things). I’m often happily surprised at how “on-board” everyone is with my project. My family knows too, and when I’m about to cheat I hear my brother saying “good for you” and I’m reminded that YES, it is good for me.

The first two weeks of January were meant to be a big “crappy food” detox but instead it turned into a “somewhat crappy food detox” and I guess that’s fine with me. There’s no point in looking back, right? Only forward. On the days that I ate super healthy, I felt great. I felt like the Better Me that I WANT to be. In the last two weeks of January, I’m holding myself accountable that much MORE. I want to finish off this month and confidently cross off my four goals for the month knowing that I accomplished them as best I could (not as HALF best I could).

The last two weeks of January should be interesting for me: I have a week of vegetarianism coming up (I’m 2 days in it right now, actually! More on that another day) and basically I want to cut even more crap food out of my life in these last 12 days or so. I had a conversation with a friend the other day and she made a good point- it’s nearly impossible to just cut out everything you love (even for a month) and all at once. It makes a person cranky, and I really hate being cranky. So I’m doing my “one month no junk food” my own way, and if all goes to plan I’ll still cross the goal off because I can SEE myself trying really hard. The rest of January is going to be the “try even harder” time, and I’m more motivated than before to just finish off this health month the right way.

Some homemade vegetarian pasta sauce, this veggie thing is lots of fun so far! 

January may not be the most exciting, extraordinary month of goals. But it’s still SOMETHING and I’m still keeping myself motivated and excited for the goals that I want to add in February. I’m nervous, but if I want to get to a point where I can incorporate more goals, I really have to get my head MORE in the game.

So, if you’ve read this far and you’re thinking “yeah, I could be doing better with my resolutions too!” then I encourage you to do it with me right NOW. If you give yourself no other option than to succeed (instead of indulging as I have in the past few weeks) then success is the only possible outcome, right? Let’s end January the RIGHT way.

If you’re participating in 12 Changes, how is month 1 going for you? Any slip-ups or exciting breakthroughs? What are your tips for succeeding all month? 

8 responses »

  1. I think your attitude is just right – keep going! Just because you slipped up a couple of times, doesn’t mean that overall you aren’t achieving your goals for this month. Changes are hard and the more credit you give yourself for the things you DO right, the less you have to worry about a little slip up here and there 🙂

  2. I’m often so gung-ho in setting goals for myself that I make them almost impossible to reach. And then one slip-up feels like failure, so I give up. I think your approach is much more sensible. You are heading in exactly the right direction, and being kind enough to yourself to allow for fluctuations along the way. Keep aiming for those goals. You’ll still get there! I so applaud your attitude in this blog.

  3. I love the idea of writing down your goals and hanging them up where you (and others!) can see them. I think I may consider doing that for my own goals, somehow visually seeing something makes things “stick” for me.

  4. I think its great that you’ve written your goals down and posted them where you can see them everyday. I have little notes stuck around my bathroom mirror so that I can see them daily.

  5. I love the reminders! I need to do something like that.

    For my change (drinking more water, less soda), I’ve been doing so-so. I didn’t even get started until after my mom’s marathon because hi, VACATION! Haha. But these past 2 weeks, I’ve been doing a LOT better. I had a few slip-ups this week but I’m trying not to beat myself up too much about it because drinking water is becoming more of the norm for me.

    I love how you’re re-energizing yourself for the next 2 weeks of January. We got it, we got it!! 🙂

  6. Sounds like you are doing great so far! Making changes can be hard, but i just try to focus on them being a lifestyle change and how great the change will be in the long run.

    That vegetarian sauce looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

