Scheduling “me” time & my ideal day

Standard

I’ve always been the kind of person who needs a lot of time for ME. I love going out with friends and spending tons of time with family, but I’m not the type to schedule more than one thing in a day. If I work all day, I rarely feel good about doing something afterwards- I look forward to coming home and relaxing for the evening and basically doing my own thing.

Sometimes I feel like I spend TOO MUCH time by myself. I can usually spend two straight days at home before starting to feel like I need to get out for any reason, and when I make plans too many evenings in a row I tend to get really stressed about it and need to cancel somewhere.

I don’t know where I got this *need* to spend time by myself, but I just love it. I don’t function properly if I’m not home at a decent hour to get a good nights’ rest, and I don’t work well if I haven’t had the chance to do my own thing for a few hours before starting a new day.

Lately, I feel like every time I try and schedule time for myself, it never works out quite as I planned. Some nights (even Fridays and Saturdays!) I prefer the idea of cozy-ing up with a book and a mug of tea over going out to party. I don’t know if this makes me sound like an old lady, but that’s just the way it is! And it’s been many nights now that I haven’t been able to sit down and not feel like I should be doing something else.

I haven’t really written about it, but this semester I cut down my work load at school to only two classes; one online and one in school. So far it’s helped my anxiety and stress levels enormously, but I think I still have a lot of work to do. I KNOW that I’m a “me time” kind of person, and I really need to find a way to schedule my time accordingly. I’ve been feeling like everything I do is rushed and I somehow never have enough time to get anything done properly.

I know that I put the month of April as “procrastination” in my 12 Changes project to really focus on this situation, but I think the heart of the problem is more than just that. I need to organize my time better so that I don’t feel like I’m suffering from a schedule that I’ve made for myself. Even by cutting down on school, I’ve somehow found myself feeling more stressed than I’d like to be.

This week I’ve spent a lot of time trying to prepare meals to keep up with my vegetarian lifestyle after work, and the hour or so I get to myself I’m just too tired to even read. I’m going to finish up this hectic week, and starting fresh after the weekend I’d like to start finding a way to organize the hours of my day better. If that means cutting down on internet, then so be it. I just want to feel more productive without the added stress. 

I saw a blog post a little while back that outlined an “ideal day” and I loved it immediately. My schedule is so completely random from one week to the next (the perks of working retail) that I don’t think I could ever create an ideal day for myself, but any day for me would be ideal if it could include the following:

1) 7AM wake-up. 8am is *truly* ideal, but I think 7AM is a good time to get things done, especially on a work day

2) A work-out of some sort. Either 30 Day Shred style, or going to the gym/taking a fitness class

3) One hour of reading, at least! I love to read and never feel like I make enough time in my day for it. Not recently, anyway.

4) A decent bedtime, more often than not. I am not the kind of person who likes staying up late. 11pm lights off is truly ideal for me!

5) Some time to catch up on blogs & write my own. I have a habit of clearing out my Google Reader every day that I’m trying to quit because it’s so time consuming. Instead, I just want to read until I feel like moving onto something else, and spend more time just WRITING because I love doing it!

I’m recognizing that I am NOT the kind of person who can ignore myself and just live a crazy lifestyle without sleep or consideration for my own needs. I need “me” time and from here on out, I want to make sure that my schedule reflects that properly. I may not be able to have an ideal day every day of my life, but as of right now, I want to make sure that there are more of my days that feel good and PRODUCTIVE, rather than stressful and lacking the things I love.

I want to make more time for me and to do the things I love in my life, starting now. 

What does your ideal day look like? Are you a “me” time kind of person? Who’s up to the challenge to do more things you love in a day? 

9 responses »

  1. We are the EXACT same when it comes to scheduling and stress and alone time. The exact same. I just wrote about it recently as well. A lot of people don’t understand it! It doesn’t make you sound like an old lady at all, it just means you understand yourself. Something to celebrate 🙂

  2. I definitely a “me” type person, but usually that includes Rob especially on an ideal day 🙂 It’s a lot harder to find when I’m on a project…I’ve been home lately so, a lot easier! Great post as always friend 🙂

  3. I am exactly the same. I am definitely a “me time” person. After working all day and having to be so ON IT, all I want to do now when I get home is curl up on the couch and watch TV. I usually don’t even want to open my computer! I think I’m going to have to take a long, hard look at my priorities and see exactly where my blog fits into it.

    I actually opened my computer right now (a little before 8:30pm) to write my blog post for tomorrow but I actually think, after reading this post, I’m just going to turn off the computer, finish the show I’m watching, and get ready for bed. 🙂

    I love your ideal day. It sounds perfect!

  4. I will add my “me too’ to the pile. I am just the same and although I don’t get anxious about it (as such), I do start to think about what other people must think of me (as is my way!). I don’t like doing things after work more than 2 days in a row and if I am doing something all day Saturday, I MUST make sure Sunday is free to ‘recover’ and relax. I tend to do a lot of stuff for charities and other people which can be all consuming sometimes and although I like to do as much as is physically and mentally possible, I have to say no a lot of the time .. which makes me feel so bad ..

    It’s one thing that I am trying to work on in 2012 too – planning my time more and trying not to feel guilty for saying no to evenings out and other things!

  5. Even though I complain about being busy I do like to be busy and go go go. I usually only give myself one night a week with NO plans after work and the other nights I’m other running or going to yoga – two of my ultimate stress relievers. I feel really bored and unproductive if I spend too much time doing nothing.

    That said, I can’t go go go without ANY me time for too long or I get really burnt out! And “me time” includes hanging out with Eric at home since I’m rarely ever truly alone in a house with three people and two animals!!

  6. I feel EXACTLY the same way about me-time. I get really cranky when I don’t get to spend time by myself… and usually that means at least an hour or two each night (which I usually don’t get) or at least a day on the weekend.
    I take a night with tea and a good book/TV show/crafting over any night out. Sometimes I feel I *should* be doing more, but this is what truly makes me happy.

    I definitely need to work on balancing things a little bit… sometimes I “waste” time on stupid things and then get upset if I don’t have time for the things I love.

  7. I definitely need my me time. If I go days without getting me time, I am not very fun to be around as I get tense.

    My ideal day involves waking up at 7, going for a run on the local trails, showering and enjoying a cup of coffee with french vanilla creamer, and then spending the day relaxing, making a delicious meal, and reading!

  8. I’m a mostly me time person, lol. If I don’t get to hang out with just me, myself, and I, I feel like I’m going to go batty!And my ideal day involves writing, reading, the beach– and really indulgent fatty foods haha.

Leave a Reply

