Trip Planning

Standard

It’s no secret that I love traveling. I’m not as well-traveled as some of my friends, but I’ve definitely picked up the bug and I constantly feel like I’m working to pay myself another plane ticket.

Via Pinterest

And honestly? I wouldn’t have it any other way in my life right now. I wish I could do MORE of it, spend a year abroad even! I love EVERYTHING about traveling. I think my absolute favorite part though, besides the actual BEING there, is planning. When I booked my plane ticket to Greece I spent endless nights with my 3 girls around our various kitchen tables looking at pictures, hotels, hostels, ferry tickets and other things that we could do. I think the whole experience of actual trip PLANNING brought my friends and I closer together every single time I’ve gone somewhere with someone other than family.

I have a thing with to-do lists, ha 🙂

I read a book last year which stated that you can find more happiness in the activities you do if you learn to appreciate the anticipation and the planning of the activity. That line stayed with me because I realized just how TRUE that was. Ever since, I have learned to love planning and anticipating what’s to come. It really is half the fun! When I was finally in Greece and would arrive at the hotel that we had spent hours researching and reading reviews about, I got such a rush realizing what an amazing place it was. The four of us took so much time to pick places that we all intuitively felt good about, it was SO rewarding when the time we took to do things right paid off. Not to mention I have such fond memories of sitting with my friends, sipping coffee & and endlessly talking about everything our future was holding for us. 

As my vacation to Florida approaches, I’m getting really excited to sit down with my two friends and start deciding what we want to do. I was so exhilarated after we pressed the “confirm” button when we booked, but since then we haven’t had the chance to get together and talk about what we want to do. I’m leaving in exactly THREE weeks and I think it’s time I get back into the excitement of planning my trip. I’ve exchanged e-mails with some of my favorite Florida bloggers, I’ve begun planning who I’ll meet, where I want to go; all that’s missing is putting these pieces together with my girls.

I know that none of us want to fully book our 6 days while we’re there, we want to leave space for spontaneity, which I’ve learned is one of the best things. But I’m so excited to sit down and get MORE excited with them about getting on a plane and visit a new part of the world for the first time together.

I’m definitely most excited about visiting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter (it is on my Life List, after all!) but I am genuinely just ecstatic at the idea of living out of my suitcase, spending every hour of every day with my friends, taking pictures, wearing summer-ish clothing, and forgetting about real life for a week.

I think this week the three of us will be getting together to really talk about what we want to do while we’re there, and I genuinely couldn’t be happier. Let the planning begin! 

What’s your favorite part about traveling? Are you a lover of planning like me? 

9 responses »

  1. Nice post. You are right, the excitement that comes with planning is really special. But for me, I cannot choose my favorite though. I love the planning part, the actual traveling and even the part of writing about my travels. I don’t like the spending part, though! hahaha! As if one can avoid that. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love to plan as well! I especially love getting a deal – comparing hotel prices and rental cars, using up miles and loyalty points, scouring Groupon for deals in the city I’m going to…it’s a sickness…

  3. I love traveling so much! I wish I had more money and could do it ALL THE TIME. I’m constantly thinking about vacations and trips I want to take. The planning is a lot of fun too, it’s definitely one of my favourite parts and I do almost all the planning when Eric and I take trips together!

  4. I love love traveling and I love love planning my trips. The planning process is almost as much fun as the traveling! I love looking through guide books and reading forums on tripadvisor.com. Gah. It’s so much fun!

  5. Sooo excited for you for Florida – it’s my fave place ever (well, Disney is) I want to move there in 2014! You’re guna have an amzing time!! xxx

  6. How exciting! I haven’t been on a child-less, just for fun trip in AGES so this summer I have made it my goal to go to a music fest with just my closest friends. I seriously cannot wait and I agree planning the trip is half the fun. I tend to go overboard. I devote a whole notebook to hotels, restaurants, attractions, etc.
    Anyway, great post. I wish I lived closer to Orlando. I’m sure you will have a great time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

