Here’s to an adventurous 2012

Standard

When I first started blogging, most of my posts were related to my adventures with music and friends. In 2008 through 2010 you could find me almost every weekend in a different city watching one of my favorite bands playing a show. I think one of the main reasons I started writing was because I wanted to document all the fun places I went.

Fall 2008- Still one of my favorite concert memories ever! Heading home from a sleepless night in Ottawa. Also known as one of the days that started all future adventures.

Summer 2008- Loved this whole day at my first Warped Tour, so much!

September 2009- One day + 9 hours of driving (to and from a random French town) and it was always worth it with these girls

May 2009- That time we went to a concert in a church, really far from home! I think I went to 8 shows that month with my girls

Summer 2009- We did a lot of waiting to be front row & always found inventive ways to be in the shade!

August 2010- We were front row for SOMETHING CORPORATE. My life was complete!ย 

April 2010- I spent a week forgetting about everything, not sleeping, and going to shows every single night in a different city to see these guys play

Although I went to a few really amazing shows in 2011, my year lacked spontaneity and musical adventures. I was more responsible and less “in the moment”. I know that all comes with growing up, but some days I miss being young and being in a different city every week for the sake of music.

I’ve been trying to be be better with my money because all those years definitely burned a hole in my bank account. I know you’re only young once and blah blah blah, but I also wanted to experience OTHER things and that’s just what I did (Hi, Greece? Prince Edward Island? Florida?) I’m not saying that one is better than the other AT all. I really love traveling and seeing the world… But I do miss getting in a car with my best friends and driving to the closest town to see a show.

I really want 2012 to be more adventurous for me. I miss that part of my life a lot. I have a couple things planned in coming months, but I don’t want to look back on this year and think of it as another year that I missed out on a lot of things I wanted to do. I’m STILL young, I’m still in school, living at home and experiencing tons of new things. I want to enjoy it before I settle down into adulthood for good.

So here’s to a more adventurous 2012 with good friends, great music, lots of travel and hopefully not too much debt, hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

What kinds of things do you want to do more of this year?ย 

6 responses »

  1. I really want to break out of the drudgery of my day-to-day this year and just DO things. I spent the majority of last year letting the person I was in a relationship drag me down and I’m done with that.

  2. I would like to be more adventurous. I loved that kind of thing when I was a kid. I’ve lost it, though, in a pretty big way. I don’t typically take chances or risks, I’m prone to being meek, and don’t have a lot of guts. It’s the one thing I wish were different about me – that I were more aggressive, assertive, and daring. Not to where it gets me in trouble, but just enough to make my life more interesting. Right now, I feel pretty boring and self-restrictive. I know a lot of that has to do with school, which is why I’ve resented it since I started almost four years ago. I’m almost done, though. Hopefully after I graduate I’ll be free to do more with my life.

  3. I know this year is going to be a lot less “Big” travel and more about those things I’ve just been meaning to get around to. Visiting places in my backyard and doing little things that will probably bring me just as much satisfaction as all those big (read: expensive) adventures have in the last few years.

  4. Wow, you have been to a lot of concerts! I try to see 1-2 per year. I wanted to see Ingrid Michaelson in April but the tickets sold out before I had a chance to buy one. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So bummed.

    I want 2012 to be full of running, reading, time spent with friends, and time at my parents lake cabin!

Leave a Reply

