Life in bits & pieces

Standard

1- I can’t believe it’s already Monday! Luckily I’m not back to work just yet, but I have a TON of school work to do so it’s not like I’m getting any good time off. I have an exam today (oh dear) and another one on Wednesday night, and then I’m free! Until then I’ll be locking myself up to study, study, and study some more. And try REALLY hard not to procrastinate.

2- Except tonight, I’m headed to a little show with a friend! We’re checking out William Fitzsimons, he’s a really great lesser known artist, and you should all check him out. I’m excited!

3- This weekend was all about birthdays for me! On Saturday I celebrated my sister-in-law’s dad’s birthday. We went over to my SIL and brother’s house and had a nice dinner with family. He’s not big on crowds so we kept it to just close family and it was really nice! Spent some much needed quality time with my nephew and just chilled out and had a good time.

Lots of this, as usual! ❤

4- Sunday was my mom’s SIXTIETH birthday, and we surprised her with a rather elaborate party at a restaurant. 45 of her closest friends and family showed up to surprise her and was she EVER. She cried a lot. Mission accomplished!

My mom & I on Sunday evening after a long day of surprise birthday celebrations! Sadly the only picture I thought of taking all day. I was too overwhelmed! 

5- For her birthday, I got my mom a pair of Cirque du Soleil ticket, and obviously I’m going with her! I haven’t been to a Cirque show since high school and I’m VERY excited. Her other big gift? A car starter! (from a group of people)… So basically I get to enjoy her two big gifts, ha! But overall, she really got spoiled, as she deserves 🙂

6- I’ve said it a few times now, and I’m going to say it again. Whitney Houston’s death completely devastated me. I found out while I was at my brother’s house on Saturday night, and was speechless. He tried to play “I will always love you” and I barely had time to tell him to turn it off before bursting into tears. I hate the internet at times like these because everyone has something rude or sarcastic to say. I know she had a drug problem and I know there are millions of other people who die every day and no one cries, BUT THIS MADE ME SAD and NO  I did not become a fan of her just because she died. She was one of my father’s favorite singers and one of my fondest memories of my dad is listening to her music with him. People need to stop being so negative and finding stupid crap to post when celebrities die. She impacted a LOT of lives. Deal with it.

7- That may be one of the only rants I’ve ever had on this blog. But I’m sticking by it.

8- On a lighter (and sunnier!) note, in exactly ONE week I will be on a PLANE to FLORIDA. I will be GOING TO HOGWARTS, hanging out CLOSE TO BEACHES, spending MONEY I DON’T HAVE, and meeting STEPHANY 🙂 yay!

+

9- I’ve already started my list of things To Do before I leave for Florida. I’m kind of over eager. I love vacations!

10- I can’t believe I’m about to write this out, but I think I’ve officially decided to go full vegetarian for the time being. I’ll still eat eggs, dairy, and fish, but I’d like to permanently cut meat out of my diet. My brain still tells me once in a while that I’m craving it, but almost NEVER. I’ve had meat about 4 times in the last month and it hasn’t gone well with my system at all. Saturday night was the worst, I was sick straight through until late Sunday morning. For the time being, I am LOVING a vegetarian diet and fish is the one thing I will never give up. So yeah. I’m a vegetarian now for real. I think. Ha 🙂

What’s up with you? How was your weekend? What’s been going on in your life?

6 responses »

  1. Oh, my gahhh! That photo of your nephew is adorbs. His eyes are so big and expressive! Love, love, love.

    I was never a huge Whitney fan (Not that I *wasn’t* a fan… I just didn’t really listen to her type of music) but her death rocked my world as well. And everyone saying, “Well, is it surprising? She had a drug problem.” UGH. So annoying! Some people really need to come off their high horses because her death has devastated so many people. And her poor daughter. I couldn’t even imagine. Makes me sick to think of all she’s going through now. 😦

    My weekend was awesome. I spent it shopping, ha! I don’t think I’ve ever spent so much money in one weekend but it was money I had so I didn’t let myself feel guilty about it. And my mom and I started seriously looking at excursions for our cruise. Soooo exciting! 89 days! 🙂

  2. Your nephew is so adorable! 🙂 Love when you post pictures of him.

    Oh, this is so great that you had a surprise party for your Mom. Happy belated birthday! And Cirque de Soleil is awesome – I went once and was absolutely impressed!!

    I am sad about Whitney Houston, too. I wouldn’t say that I was a big fan of hers, but I definitely appreciated her as an artist! It’s too bad that she had such a rough time being famous and all that comes with it… 😦

    Have a great night with your friend!

  3. yay for the cirque show! i seriously love all things cirque, so so good. and seriously, the nephew, so much cuteness. and hurrah for hogwarts! seriously have so much fun, i loved it there.

  4. I have never been to a cirque show – they look like so much fun. What a great gift for your mom – I am all about ‘experience’ type of gifts! 🙂

    Sounds like a lovely weekend! Good luck w/ your studying/exams!!

  5. Cris looks more and more like a little boy each time you post! And those eyes—oh, those eyes.

    I don’t know too much about William Fitzsimmons, but what I have heard of him I just love.

    I, too, was devastated to hear about Whitney on Saturday night. My roommate and I were home and I got the breaking news email—I couldn’t believe it until I had checked every possible news source I could think of. Then we both called our moms. I know I can’t imagine losing a mother that young. Whitney had such a gift—a phenomenal voice that touched the world—and no matter what the circumstances surrounding her death were I’m sad that she’s gone.

Leave a Reply

