Another new family member!

Standard

It feels like just yesterday that my nephew was born & I was introducing him on my blog, and yet in two days it’ll already be FOUR MONTHS (and I’ve got another letter in the works for him to add to the two I’ve already written!)

But today is about another kind of new family member. For the past few months my mom and I had decided that we were ready to get a second dog again. We had put down one of ours last October because she was quite sick, but she had grown up alongside my current dog and he got rather lonely all by himself. We agreed that we didn’t want another BIG dog- we had babysat my neighbors’ tiny puppy and were in love- we just needed to take the time to find the RIGHT little puppy for us!

A few days ago, a friend of mine who works for an animal clinic posted a few pictures of new dogs they were trying to find homes for. When I saw this picture I was immediately in love and my mom was too. We had decided in that instant that we wanted to adopt him:

My little dude’s adoption photo!

The next day, he was taken from the puppy mill where he was born and brought to the clinic where my friend works, and last night my mom went to pick him up- and now he’s ours! We officially decided this morning that we are going to keep him. He is so cute and tiny, and a complete sweetheart. We still haven’t decided on a name, but we’ll get there!

He weighs about six pounds and is about 3-4 months old. When I met him last night he was really quiet and shy (and sleepy!) but as I write this he is zooming around through my room and the upstairs hallway with energy. I totally forgot how energetic puppies are! I’m really excited to get to know him more each day, and I sincerely hope my cat stops being terrified of a furry creature that’s half his size (seriously. Half.)

There’s a bit of a size difference between the two, ha!

All bundled up to sleep!

Have you ever adopted a pet before?! 

6 responses »

  1. He’s so cute! Ahh, makes me want another puppy. I really want to adopt another puppy, but I’m not sure how Dutch would be with another one. He’s very clingy to me! 🙂

  2. Oh, he’s DARLING. And I’m sure the name will come in time. When my family got our dog it took us days to pick one that we were all happy with. With the other ones, there was always at least one of us who thought it TOTALLY didn’t fit him. And one day, it clicked and all of us thought the name was perfect!

  3. He is so cute and TINY. It’s funny that your cat is afraid of him – the cat my parents used to have (well, technically it was mine because I got it from a HS boyfriend, but my parents kept it when i moved to college) would scare the crap out of my brothers’ dogs which were like 2-3 times the size of the cat. 😉

Leave a Reply

