Guest Post: Jen from Almost Grown Up

Standard

Today’s post comes to you from Jen, an awesome blogger who is not new to guest posting for me! While I was in Greece this summer, she wrote this fantastic post, so I was more than happy when she agreed to write another little something for me while I’m in Florida! It’s only fitting that her post goes up today since I should be getting ready to go to Harry Potter Land in just a few hours! 🙂

Twitter/Blog

When Melissa had a call for guest posts for her trip to Orlando, I knew immediately what I wanted to write about.

Well, yes. I mean, of course. I always want to write about Darren. We are, after all, going to get married one day. By the by, Darren, if you happen to read this, I’m single.

*cough* But more to the point, I wanted to talk about Harry Potter, specifically Harry Potter foods—easy ones so that you can throw together a spur-of-the-moment Potter Party that will make you feel like you’re at Hogwarts among (as Darren once sang) “goblins and ghost and […] magical feasts.”

The candy and sweets station is an obvious necessity at a Potter Party. Now, you may be able to find actual brand name Chocolate Frogs or Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans at certain stores, but if you’re running around on a shortage of time and money like I have been before, you may want to settle for a variety bag of jelly beans. Dumbledore’s favorites are Sherbet Lemons and Lemon Drops are certainly easy enough to find. You can grab your favorite licorice brand for some Licorice Wands. When the last movie premiered I was even lucky enough to find pre-packaged treacle fudge in the bakery section of the grocery store—that I think was probably better than Hagrid’s, if I’m honest.

Chocolate-dipped Pretzel Wands are usually a crowd pleaser as well. For these, you can buy a bag of pretzel rods, dipping chocolate, and if you want to get into the spirit of Gryffindor, you can throw some red and yellow sprinkles on top as well. If you find you like decorating treats, you can also buy packaged sugar cookies and some squeeze icing and go a little crazy drawing Harry Potter symbols on top of them.

If you’d like to serve your guests something slightly more substantial, buying frozen tacquitos in your favorite variety work well. Personally, I’m partial to the chicken and cheese ones. Serve ‘em up and call them Parchment Scrolls!

When you get around to watching the movies, your favorite YouTube tributes, or A Very Potter Musical (and sequel) later, it’s also nice to have some Transfigured Corn to munch on. I’m sure you can work out how to magic that one up on your own.

And do you even need to ask what you should serve for drinks? Can’t go wrong with a classic Butterbeer. Mix 1 part Butterscotch Schnapps with 2 parts Cream Soda. Unless, of course, this is a tipsier sort of Potter Party. In that case, I’m sure swapping the amounts of soda and Schnapps would be equally delicious. Though I’ll admit: it doesn’t compare to the real thing.

Have fun at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Melissa! Authentic Butterbeer might change your life!”

8 responses »

Leave a comment