February Wrap-Up

Standard

To be honest, I really didn’t feel like writing this post. My 12 Changes project really didn’t follow me very well in February in ANY way. I had lots of excuses lined up to write about, here are some:

1. I was planning a vacation so I didn’t really have time to do anything fitness related

2. I was really busy with school for the first half of the month which means I couldn’t really go to the gym

3. I hate Jillian Michaels and don’t want to do her workouts anymore

4. I hate keeping a food diary so I decided not to anymore

5. I had so many other things to do, going to the gym was the least of my worries. Also, I was still eating healthy so that counts for something, right?

I mean, sure, to some extent all of these reasons/excuses/whatever you want to call them have some validity, but mostly they really don’t. I hate setting myself up with goals and not being able to accomplish them, but I can honestly say that I just WASN’T up for it this month. 

On the bright side I’ve still been doing relatively well with my eating habits, although I’ve decided not to be a full vegetarian any longer. That doesn’t mean I’m back to the kind of eating habits I had in 2011 AT ALL- I’ve cut so much out of my diet- but I like having options if I want them, and the main purpose of my healthy eating was to be more conscious of what goes into my body and I’ve been doing JUST that.

I do cheat though, and I’m sad to admit that this past week was probably my worst of 2012, but I get this *feeling* after being unsuccessful for long enough that it just doesn’t matter anymore. I’m a VERY organized person (in most areas of my life) and I require symmetry in everything that I do (this often shows in my work) so I hate *starting* something with just a few days left to the month.

That’s really another excuse, but it’s also true. I’ve decided to give myself a break for one more day, the last day of February, before kicking back up in high gear and getting back into my goals for the year. I was SO motivated just 2 months ago, I think life has been getting in the way of the things I hoped to accomplish! It’s time to start printing out my goals and facing them every single day. In February, I did a really good job of pretending they don’t exist, and admitting that to myself really sucks. But I just had to be honest here.

It’s always tough to start a new good habit when you’re in the midst of doing a million other way more exciting things (planning my trip and going on it was FAR more exciting than planning gym excursions)… I just want to learn to stop making excuses for myself. I’ve done it for SO long and I just don’t want to. I want to make time for the things that are truly important in life, and health is IMPORTANT. 

February wasn’t great and I wasn’t really expecting it to be, but next month I’m going to be taking some time to re-organize my priorities and the goals I haven’t succeeded at yet are at the top of the list.

How did your February goals go? Any tips/tricks to get into a good fitness routine and not cringe it? 

7 responses »

  1. February was a tough month for me. Work was stressful, the medical bills started to roll in, which makes my stomach hurt, and I have felt overwhelmed by studying. But I made it through the month and am determined to make March a better month.

    It is really hard to fit in workouts when you are busy, so I just treat them like a commitment. I write them in my planner ahead of time because then I do want to cross them out as that will make me feel like a failure. The first half of the month wasn’t great as i was still recovering from surgery and then had a business trip, but I was good about getting 3-5 workouts in/week in the 2nd half. It’s not easy but i always remind myself that I will never regret doing a workout, but I will always regret skipping one!

    Good luck, hope March is a great month for you!

  2. I think it’s all about the small changes rather than the big ones. Big changes don’t happen over night. As much as we all want to eat healthy all the time and go to the gym everyday, it’s not like flipping a switch. Rather than beat yourself up over not sticking to your strict goals, celebrate your small victories. In other words, “I drank a glass of water instead of buying a soda–go me!” or “I worked out today–I’m awesome for doing that!”. This is something I’ve slowly been learning myself, and it’s way better than thoughts like “I ate a donut–my healthy diet is DOOMED!” or “I missed a workout–time to throw in the towel.”. These days, I’m much more into accepting things. I’ll try to make healthy choices, but sometimes I just want to eat French fries and that’s ok. (I know not everyone can do this though, and for some people total avoidance is necessary. You have to know what works best for you.)

    Good luck!

  3. Hey, don’t beat yourself up. We’ve all been there! Sometimes, we just fall of the bandwagon. Sometimes life gets in the way… and as much as I know that you don’t want to use that as an excuse (and I don’t want that either), it happens. Sometimes I just don’t feel that I can commit anymore because I am already stretched thin. Does that mean we’re setting our priorities wrong? Maybe. But it also means that we can only handle/tackle so many things at a time. Next month is going to be much, much better, I promise 🙂

    xo

  4. Thanks for finding me! I’m always so excited to find new bloggers, and yes…we do have a lot of friends in common! So excited to start reading you and get to know you! Oh, and don’t beat yourself up about this. Sometimes you just have to give yourself credit for the tiny things we do. You know you want to better yourself in this area, so you can try again next month. Mini changes are what makes a big change.

  5. Melissa it sounds like we’ve both been having problems with the goals that we set ourselves. F*ck it and move on. I apologise for my basic english but it’s my new response to the things that like you I’d normally get hung up on and stressed. Let it go and move on.

    That doesn’t mean forget about completely. If this is a goal is important to you and one you still want to complete then your first failure is also your first step towards success. Review what you’ve done, what worked well and what didn’t? Find a solution or a new idea for what didn’t work well and try again. Rinse and repeat until you get the result that you want.

    If going to the gym is not right for you and your lifestyle then there are lots of other ways to work out. Just stop trying to force yourself to go month after month if it’s not working out for you.

    Here’s to a more productive March!

  6. Girl, I am right there with you on February. In fact, 2012 isn’t shaping up the be the year I was hoping it would be. But you know what? That’s only because I’m letting the excuses pile up and define me.

    March is a brand-new month and it’s our time to be serious about the goals we set for ourselves.

    ❤ you!

Leave a Reply

