The Book Chat {Vol 1}

Standard

My good blog friend Jessica over at Sweet Green Tangerine (you may remember her kick ass guest post while I was gone last week?)  invited me to be a part of a new series she’s starting on her blog called ‘The Book Chat’. I was MORE than happy/excited to join in because a) I love books and b) I love talking about books. Perfect!

If you’d like to join in, go check out her blog today & link up! 

Today’s question: Who is your favorite fictional couple?

This is a tough question for me to answer because I do not READ romance novels very often. I mean, sometimes the books I read will have a romantic sub-plot to them, but I don’t think I’ve ever picked up a novel because I wanted to read a good love story. Well, maybe when I was a teenager.

So instead of talking about my FAVORITE fictional couple, I thought I’d tell you about the TOP THREE fictional couples that I thought were the most well written, and why.

Number Three: Tibby & Brian

[The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares]

I first read the Sisterhood books when I was a teenager, and I immediately loved the awkward relationship that developed between one of the four girls & the geeky boy from the corner store. Their relationship didn’t happen overnight like Bella & Edward, there were no superpowers, no hot-shot-guy-can-get-any-girl-chooses-nerd plot line, it was a real deal teen love story.

Fast forward to the last book, Sisterhood Everlasting, and their love story still won my heart over completely. They were one of the first fictional couples I totally rooted for right until the end!

Number Two: Henry & Clare

[The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger]

Besides the fact that this is still one of the only love story novels that I actually ADORED and actually READ because it was a love story, I don’t think I’ve ever laughed/cried/yelled as much as I did when I read this book. They were the ultimate couple, bound together by real, passionate feelings.

NUMBER ONE: Augustus & Hazel

[The Fault in Our Stars by John Green]

Maybe it’s because this is the most recent book that I read with a *love* story (an unexpected one, I might add) but it’s still definitely one of my favorites. It’s teen love again, but I think some authors just REALLY get it right, and John Green GOT THIS ONE right. Their story was more than just their love- it was the circumstances that brought them together & the way their feelings developed for one another.

Their story was more than just two teenagers meeting and having a crush. There weren’t any cliches to their story, and I think that’s what I love most. Teenagers these days need less love stories about vampires and more stories that they can relate to in their OWN lives. More real life problems with real life solutions. That’s what made Augustus & Hazel number one for me, by a landslide.

Honorable mentions: I LOVED the love stories in…

My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares, Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, and the Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty.

Who are your favorite fictional couples?

11 responses »

  1. Oh, how fun! I’ll have to join in some day. I love talking about books. 🙂

    Let’s see… favorite fictional couples. I have a special place in my heart for a fictional couple in a series by Suzanne Brockmann. She writes military-driven romances and the romance between Jules and Robin stole my heart. They were introduced in one book and then throughout the next few you watched their love grow, never really knowing if they would make it work.

    And I loved Anna and St. Clair in “Anne and the French Kiss”. I couldn’t put that book down for anything!

    I really need to read TFiOS. I keep hoping it’ll be a #twookclub book pick, ha!

  2. Ok that’s it, I’m reading that book next, I promise. Maybe even before Pandemonium. I keep picking it up at the book store, then putting it back down (usually because of the price tag).
    I like that everyone is leaning towards “REAL” couples. As much as I enjoyed Twilight, I hated that Edward & Bella fell in love for no reason other than the author made them. LOL There was no process to it. Even less in the movie. And I love watching a love connection evolve.
    Great job & thanks for participating!!

  3. My favorite fictional couple is Lyra and Will in the “His Dark Materials” series. Not sure if you’ve read them (Golden Compass, Subtle Knife, Amber Spyglass). I don’t want to give anything away but it’s the perfect “star-crossed lovers” thing, and when I read it at like 15 it totally broke my freaking heart. I also like Harry and Ginny 🙂

Leave a Reply

