The Book Chat {Vol 2}

Standard

I’m linking up this week once again with Jessica from Sweet Green Tangerine for her weekly book chat! You can head over to her blog and link up too, if you like.

Today’s question: Which fictional character do you feel you’re most like?ย 

For a long time, I always associated myself with Tibby from The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I’m not sure *why*, except that throughout high school my friends & I always loved those books and that’s always the girl that I associated with most. I also happen to really love Amber Tamblyn, the actress who played her in the movies.

That being said, 2-3 years ago I read the Jessica Darling series [Sloppy Firsts/Second Helpings/Charmed Thirds/Fourth Comings/Perfect Fifths] and IMMEDIATELY associated to her. The 5 book series looks at Jessica Darling’s life from high school until University graduation through a mixture of her journal entries and her personal voice. I remember reading the first book on the beach and thinking to myself “holy crap this girl? She’s me!” and I had the EXACT same feeling as I read every single other book.

Nowadays I very rarely read “girly” books like that (unless you could RE-reading them) but back when I first read these, they were right up my alley (pre-working in a bookstore me). I don’t know if I’d love another series like this one again after expanding my reading horizons, but I know that when I pick up a Jessica Darling book to read it again I’m going to feel the exact same way. She is written as a silly, nowhere-near-perfect, rambling, quirky girl who can’t quite get life right but is desperately trying.

Sound familiar?

I know, me too.ย 

Sometimes, it’s just so nice to immerse yourself in a contemporary fiction story that you can really RELATE to. You can often find me talking about the amazingness of Dystopian Novels, but I think relatable stories and characters like Jessica Darling will never go out of style.

And now, I can’t wait to re-read one of my all time favorite set of books!

What fictional character do YOU most relate to?

5 responses »

  1. That’s a tough one! I’m not really sure. I find deep connections with a bunch of characters, but I’m having a hard time thinking of one I felt was LIKE ME. I’m sure I could but it’s 9:30 in the morning and I’m just not ready to go deep into my thoughts right now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I need to read the Jessica Darling books. I’ve heard a lot of great things about them!

  2. Hmmm… Good question. Probably Ordinary from the book The Dream Giver. The book is about Ordanary’s journey out of his home, the Land of Familiar as he embarks on a quest to chase is big dream. That’s actually who I write to on all of my blog posts ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your fellow bucket lister,
    Mike Hoang

Leave a Reply

