The Book Chat {Vol 3}

Standard

You can link up on Sweet Green Tangerine today, too! The book chat is every Thursday πŸ™‚

Today’s question: If you could live in any book, which one would it be?

The answer to this question is EASY. I’ve wanted to live in this book ever since I first read it over a decade ago. I wanted to get my letter and be sent off to this magical world where school meant learning spells and having a pet meant a strange Β but lovable creature like an owl.

If you hadn’t guessed yet, I’ve always wanted to live in the wonderful world of Harry Potter!

I knew growing up that it was a silly dream, but somewhere deep down in my heart I always secretly wished that Hogwarts was a real place, Quidditch a real sport, and wizardry a real world. Each year when the newest Harry Potter came out, I excitedly ran home and locked myself up for 3 days while I devoured the latest volume. I would be so completely immersed in this fictional place that even as a teenager I truly hoped it was a place that would one day come to life for me.

Experiencing the Harry Potter Wizarding World just a few weeks ago was the closest thing to a dream come true. I know I wrote about it when I got home, but walking through the gates into the park was literally like walking into every single thing I had wanted as a child growing up. Butterbeer, chocolate frogs, pumpkin juice at the 3 Broomsticks, and of course a mind blowing ride on a broom around the castle and through the Quidditch pitch on the Forbidden Journey castle ride.

Writing this today makes me nostalgic for a world that I have adored for almost my entire life. I can’t wait to re-read those books and remember all the tiny details of a place that will be forever a favorite escape of mine into the fictional world!Β 

What book would you live in, if you could choose?!Β 

14 responses »

  1. As I was writing this question, I thought in my head “I know what Melissa will say” LOL Another bloggy friend of mine wrote about HP too. http://danceanthak.blogspot.com/2012/03/book-chat-book-i-would-live-in.html
    I’m honored that you both wrote such awesome, heartfelt responses based on my question. I was telling her that HP is amazing because it literally grew up with a whole generation of people.
    This is a great response! Thanks again for participating. I look forward to Thursday all week now. πŸ™‚ And I know you’ll appreciate next week’s question.

  2. OK, I’m just testing this comment out because I think I figured out my problem with commenting! Anyway, here is the comment I posted:

    Ah, this is a tough one! I may have picked HP, too. Such a great series and such an awesome world to get sucked into. And there’s Ron. Nobody compares to Ron. πŸ˜‰

    ….And noooow, let’s see if it works!

  3. It worked! I’m a genius! OK… you can totally delete the first comment that needs moderating. And maybe this one if you want. I’ll stop hogging your commenting section. πŸ™‚

  4. I totally want to live in the world of The Night Circus. I don’t know if you’ve read it, but that world was so noir and hypnotic. Otherwise, I would want to be a Shadowhunter in Idris or NY. I love that world.

    • Ooohhh, I haven’t read Night Circus but I’m super intrigued now that you mentioned wanting to live in that world! I heard such mixed reviews about the book, I was never sure whether it would be the kind of book I enjoyed or not. May have to re-think that one!

  5. I’m definitely still waiting on my Hogwarts acceptance letter too. My roomie and I about lost it the other day when we realized there would not be an HP movie to go see this summer. But, the memories will last forever. I remember when Deathly Hallows II came out and one of our national newscasters dubbed those of us when grew up with the books and movies “the Harry Potter generation”β€”how right she was.

    I move that we have another #SummerofHarry on Twitter. So fun!

    • Totally agree with you! We really ARE the HP generation. i don’t know who I’d be i it wasn’t for those books! I’d LOVE to do another SummerofHarry. Last summer I didn’t read them, just joined in the chats. This summer? I am 100% re-reading them. Actually not even sure I can wait that long. May do it in the next couple months!

    • Jess! It’s so nice to see you around here again, it’s been a while πŸ™‚

      I visited Prince Edward Island for the first time 2 summers ago actually. I spent 10 days there and it is JUST as beautiful as you could imagine it to be. If you look in my nav bar up above in my travels, you’ll see there’s a Prince Edward Island tab and you can see my pictures… I woudl 100% recommend going there for a vacation with beautiful beaches. PLUS, you get to visit lots of Anne of Green Gables places πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

