The Art of Scrapbooking

Standard

It seems like I’m rarely writing about all the goals I have to complete this year, and yet my 101 in 1,001 and 23 Before 23 are patiently waiting to have numbers crossed off. Today’s post is about #13 on the 23 Before 23 and #17 on the 101 in 1,001! 2 in 1, woo hoo!

While I was in Greece in August (yes, I am bringing up this vacation again!) I had the idea that I wanted to teach myself to scrapbook. I realize *teach* is a bit of a strong word, but I am seriously crafty-handicapped. I’ve never been great at it, but the idea of having a place where I could store photos & memorabilia that I collected along the way sounded enchanting.

The week I got home, I was at the craft store buying supplies. I found my scrapbook and a bunch of cute things to put in it all on the same day- we’re talking like early September. And then I proceeded to basically completely forget about my project. Well actually, that’s not really true. I needed to get my pictures printed, and with almost 1,500 photos to sort through I needed to find the time to do it. This is what I ended up printing:

Yes, that is two BOXES full. Pretty sure I printed about 500 photos! 

Finally, about two weeks ago, I decided to sit myself down and try to start my scrapbook. It’s been about 6 months that I’m home & I was already home from ANOTHER vacation after that one so I wasn’t really in the mood to do it… But you guys? I ended up LOVING it. I’d like to think my scrapbook turned out relatively well- it’s not done yet, I still have 4 pages to complete, but other than that? I sat down over the course of one weekend and I was un-stoppable!

I’m so proud of my new-found craftiness, I really wanted to share my handiwork. So without further ado, the scrapbook of a non-crafty person (not so bad, right?!)

… Sorry about the image quality, my iPhone wasn’t quite up to the task, it seems! 

I tried as much as possible not to ruin the beauty of the photos by cutting out too much of the view in the background, because that is such a big part of Greece. I think I did a decent job of preserving the beauty in the photos, and the ones that I didn’t was simply because I wanted the picture in there for fun. I added in a few little fun things I collected on the different islands I visited, which I thought gave it a sweet personal touch.

All in all, I’m really happy I gave scrapbooking a shot & I can’t wait to finish it up once I’m out of finals! It was such a lovely way to bring back tons of happy memories and become nostalgic once again for a time in my life that I absolutely adored. I still have a MILLION pictures leftover and I can’t wait to organize them and set them up in a photo album to look at any time I want to visit the vacation of my dreams!

Have you ever taken on a hobby that you didn’t think you’d enjoy? What kind of crafty things do you like to do?

7 responses »

  1. This is awesome, Melissa. It gave me a little nudging to maybe to my own scrapbooking project for my 2011 cruise. (And subsequent ones for my upcoming cruises!) I am not crafty IN THE LEAST and have no motivation to do anything crafty so this will be something I think would be awesome, but keep putting off, haha.

    Love the ways yours turned out! So great!

  2. Oh fun! Your scrapbook turned out amazing! I have scrapbooks of my semester in Australia, the trip I took to New Zealand while i was in Australia, and then the summer/winter breaks i spent working in Colorado. But that’s it for me – I haven’t made a scrapbook out of photos of the trips I’ve taken since becuase it is SO much work and I can’t wait I really enjoy the process. I like the finished product, but not the work along the way. And I am not creative. At all.

    But one ‘crafting’ type activity that I love is knitting! I don’t really feel like it falls under ‘crafting’ as you have to follow a pattern, so there is zero creative, but that’s my kind of crafting! 😉

  3. Oh I love your scrapbook…I want to do one each page dedicated to a year in my life…so I can update it throughout my lifetime…

    I hope to start it this spring…but I am so lazy in looking up where all my baby pictures are….haha….

    Great work though!….its looks really nice…

  4. This is fun, and very similar to my foray into scrapbooking 🙂 I bought a bunch of stuff to make one for “Caitlin and Rob”, it’s so goofy and silly but we love it.

  5. This is so cute. I love what you’ve done! I am guilty of starting but rarely finishing projects like these, I always seem to run out of steam. You will be looking back on these in 20 years’ time.

  6. Ahh I love your holiday scrapbook – so lovely to have the memories in one place – I’m a scrapbook fiend but I never find the time to update regularly enough – you’ve inspired me again xx

  7. I’ve made a couple of scrapbooks for friends and used to do a bunch of my own, but kind of fell away from it in the past few years. These look great, what a fun way to look back!

Leave a Reply

