Sounds from Nowheresville by the Ting Tings: Album Review

Standard

Since the musical duo known as the Ting Tings first got together in 2007 they’ve been getting more popular within their indie rock/pop/synth music genre.

I’ve always found the Ting Tings to be extremely fun to listen to, but in small doses. I love their sound in general, but they’ve never been the kind of band that I can sit and listen to over and over again. Their sound is reminiscent of a really hot summer day where the music is blaring by the pool & you’ve got hours ahead of you to just relax with your sunglasses on and a good book. Basically, I love listening to them when it’s gorgeous outside and I’m in a good mood.

Their second full length record hit stores on March 13th 2012 and I’ve been listening to it on and off ever since. It might be because their music reminds me too much of a season that isn’t here yet, but it took me some time to actually get into their new songs. As I listen to it again while writing this, I realize that I needed to find that ONE SONG that would really get me hooked to the album.

I think having a cool, unique sound is a great idea, but it’s important for artists to show their raw talent too. The song “Day to Day” was the song I needed to hear on this album to really enjoy it. It’s the one track on Sounds from Nowheresville that is just Katie White, her vocals, and a good ballad-like feel.

That being said, I actually really like the album as a whole. I like that it’s more upbeat than not- it suits the Ting Tings- and I like that it isn’t the kind of style of music you see every day. The opening track “Silence” is a great mix of vocals and production to get the album going. It starts off more mellow and slowly builds up, getting louder. “Hit Me Down Sonny” reminds me a lot of the song Paper Planes by M.I.A, which I loved. Katie White’s vocals are funky and relatively upbeat, intermingled with bells and other random sounds in the background. Is that where the album title came from? The random sounds? Anyway, it really WORKS for the Ting Tings. It’s weird, but it really works.

Individually, the songs don’t make as much sense as they do together. From beginning to end Sounds From Nowheresville distinctly starts off mellow, builds up, and goes back down. The tracks in the middle, “Hang it Up“, “Give it Back“,  and “Soul Killing” are all the louder, more fun songs of the album. The ones at the end (including “Day to Day”) are all the softer, more simplistic tracks. The album has a great flow to it overall.

My main problem with Sounds to Nowheresville is that it doesn’t particularly show any growth in Katie or Jules’ voices. Even though I really liked the more mellow tracks at the end, their voices don’t do much for me without all the crazy effects. I think it’s all the added effects that MAKE the Ting Tings who they are on this record. For their next album, although I think it’s important to stick to what works for them (effects/fun production style) it would be nice to see a greater vocal variety or even song variety interspersed throughout.

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars 
If you’re a Ting Tings fan, you’ll enjoy this record, and it’s definitely one of those albums that I’ll be playing in the summer!

**Sony Music supplied me with the album for this review, but all thoughts are my very own!
One response »

  1. I haven’t listened to this record yet, but from the few songs I have heard and your review they remind me a bit of The Naked and Famous or Sleigh Bells. A lot of up-beat tracks that can only be listened to in the right place/time/mood. In their favor, I bet that makes for a great live show. 🙂 Well done on the review!

Leave a Reply

