The Book Chat {Vol 6}

Standard

Linking up over at Sweet Green Tangerine for The Book Chat!

Today’s question: Let’s talk about endings…. Sad/Happy/Cliffhangers/Quotes

I’ve been really excited to answer this question because, let’s face it, who doesn’t have a favorite ending, or an ending that literally left your jaw hanging open and had you thinking about it for 2 straight weeks? Because I have.

Here are a few of my all-time favorites:

Favorite ending to a series

1. The Death Cure by James Dashner 
I was SO happy with the way he ended his trilogy. It made all three books even BETTER!

2. Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows
As much as I was disappointed in JK Rowling for a long time for “selling out” I don’t think I could have handled a NON happy ending. I needed her to end the series off the way she did.

Favorite ending in contemporary fiction

1.Looking for Alaska by John Green 
This book has one of the most memorable endings for me- in fact, I don’t remember how any of his other books end except this one. I like that the end is hopeful, beautiful, and doesn’t give anything away about the rest of the book. It’s just so freaking perfect!

2. I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
Another all time favorite of mine; although I don’t remember the exact details I know that I loved the way this story wrapped up. Heck, this entire book was amazing!

Favorite cliffhanger(s)

Can I make a list? I’m going to make a list.
1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
2. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
3. Wither by Lauren DeStefano
4. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
5. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness 

All of the above make me want to read the next in the series RIGHT THIS MINUTE. I felt the same way about Catching Fire, so let’s hope the next book in all the other series don’t disappoint as much as Mockingjay did. Also, number five on this list surprised even me because it took me a LONG time to enjoy that book. The ending was worth the whole thing though, I want to pick up book two soon!

—–

Overall, I think it’s really difficult for author’s to end a book off the RIGHT way. When they get it right, I’m always ecstatic, and it makes me love their book a LOT more. I am not easily impressed with endings– I am actually very judgmental of them, and had to go through my entire Goodreads to get this list. I know there are a BUNCH more books I really enjoyed the endings to, but these are some that have really stood out for me in the last couple years, although most of these were much more recent.

I think especially when it comes to writing a series, an author has to know exactly what kind of cliffhanger is GOOD and what kind is NOT. There has to be a balance between details in one book and in the next, and the books should be easily distinguishable one from the other. I hate when a book ends REALLY well only to get extremely disappointed by the next one in a series. Likewise, I hate enjoying a book the whole way through and being upset by the very end. One particular author that I loved for a long time was Dean Koontz, but I quickly began to realize that he ruined all his greatest novels because of his crap endings (sorry Dean, it’s the truth! The Husband? Remember that one? Disappointing.)

What are some of your favorite and least favorite book endings? 

8 responses »

  1. I did NOT enjoy the ending to Harry Potter. Or maybe not the ending, but the epilogue or whatever it was. Too cheesy for J.K. Rowling. I don’t think that was needed, personally.

    I think Sarah Dessen has mastered the art of the perfect ending. It’s never hugely shocking, but it’s always kind of perfect, things come together in a way that just makes my hopeless romantic heart happy.

    I *loved* the ending of The Marriage Plot. I literally hugged my Kindle to me and sighed deeply when I finished it. It was SO perfect, leaving the readers to make their own conclusions. One of my all-time favorite endings.

    • To be fair, it’s been quite a while since I read that last book. When I re-read, I may have a different view on it… But I’ve also had a solid 5 years to come to terms with her ending, and i’ve decided to embrace it. It’ll come to you! Hehe 😉

      You totally make me want to re-try picking up Marriage Plot again! I gave up after page 50 since I missed the chat. Boooo.

  2. I loved the ending of Harry Potter! How often to we get happy endings like that? I’m with you, if the ending had not been happy i think I would’ve fallen into an incurable depression…kidding! (no I’m not)

    I really want to read Looking for Alaska. It’s on my list after Catching Fire.

    As for that one, I know it doesn’t end happily exactly but I think I’ll be ok with that.

  3. I love I am the Messenger!! I wanted to add it to the list but I was afraid it would be a spoiler of sorts.
    This is a great list 🙂 I would have to say Lauren Oliver is the QUEEN of endings. Did you read Before I Fall? I think I may have to go add that one to the list. Now I want to go back and add so many!

  4. I can’t think of anything I really loved, mostly I think of endings that disappointed me! I was so sad when the HP series ended, but she did such a good job with it, so maybe that is my favorite ending for a series?

  5. Oh man, the cliffhanger at the end of ‘The Knife of Letting Go’? I actually screamed. Out loud. Seriously, I was so angry/enthralled! PS – Can I say how much I love your book chats?

  6. I thought Cinder had a great cliffhanger too especially because she was just asked to skip off to a foreign country and FINALLY use her glamour abilities. yes, yes, yes.

Leave a Reply

