Currently… #3

Standard

Hope everyone had a lovely Easter weekend! It kind of seems like a while since I’ve just written about life in general, and I always happen to find this type of post an easy way to play catch up on what’s been going on!

Currently… 

Reading

As I write this, I’m about to finish up an advanced reader’s copy of Insurgent by Veronica Roth. It’s the sequel Divergent which came out last May. To be honest, I haven’t been loving it. I had REALLY high expectations for this book, but I set those aside long ago. I think a lot of people will really love it, but I’m kind of feeling like Roth is steering this series into a place that I wasn’t expecting, and it’s not really my style. That being said, it really picked up around page 300 so I’m excited to finish it. 100 more pages to go!

Listening

Our Lady Peace. Their new album is pretty good, but I’ve been listening to their Greatest Hits since last Monday when they were in Montreal for a show. I didn’t have the chance to watch their set which is a SHAME because they always put on a fantastic show. I did however get to watch Raine Maida sound check the song “Thief’ and honestly, current favorite song. He is a musical genius. I also had the opportunity to interview Jeremy, the drummer of OLP. He was one of my very first interviews about three years ago when I first started working for CONFRONT, so it kind of felt like my journalist career was coming around full circle. Interviewing the same big-time Canadian artist twice is something that I am VERY fortunate to be able to say that I have done.

The Ting Tings. I reviewed their newest album ‘Sounds From Nowheresville’ on my blog last week & I must admit it’s grown on me even more since then. I also had the chance to interview Katie, half of the musical duo, on Saturday night on the phone. She was SUCH a sweetheart it was an absolute pleasure. She has the most charming British accent, I’ll be honest it kind of felt like I was interviewing a Spice Girl. Plus she loves SG so it worked out well, ha. 🙂

– I’ve actually had a few other albums on repeat this last week or so, and I’ll be doing a little re-cap on the rest of them later in the week, probably! So much amazing music has been popping up in the last month or two, it’s time I start sharing some of it!

Watching

Community. Why am I so late on this show? IT IS HILARIOUS YOU GUYS. I’m well into season 1 now and I am just secretly so happy I have three whole seasons of the funny-ness to watch. It is so weird but so, so fun to watch.

Best Friends Forever. I downloaded the pilot episode a few days ago (the show just started) and I was laughing the entire way through. It’s a new sitcom, and I really hope there are new episodes coming up. It’s so funny!

Needing

– I seem to write this with every ‘Currently’ post I write, but I still find myself needing more time. I’m hoping to resolve this issue with my April goals of tackling procrastination, but so far I haven’t had much luck because I seem to be LOSING time rather than finding more of it. Long story short, I ended up losing 5 prime hours on Saturday morning/afternoon and I could have really used my day off to do homework and chores and things like that.

To book a vacation. I found myself gazing at this cup I keep on my desk where I collect various shells, rocks & coins from my travels around the world. There are a lot of things from all the beaches I visited from Greece as well as the volcano I climbed, and I’m just itching to find new things to add in there. I need to travel!

More days spent with my nephew! It seems like forever since I’ve written about my favorite little boy, but he is still growing and getting more of a personality each time I see him. I wish I had more free days to see him, but with finals that just isn’t possible. Luckily photos like the ones below happen to surface on Facebook and in my e-mail with the heading ‘BAD BOY FOR LIFE’ and that makes it a little bit easier. I can’t wait for the summer to see his cute little face more!

Avoiding

– Homework. Studying. But is that anything new? Not at all. This week though, regardless of my ridiculous work schedule, I’m getting my work done and I’m going to NOT procrastinate. That’s the deal I have with myself & I refuse to take no for an answer. From myself. That sounded less weird in my head…

Loving

– Drinking too much coffee. Why must it be just SO delicious?!

– The fact that classes are over for 5 whole months. WHAT! In 2 exams I am free for 4 months!

MY BRAND NEW HARRY POTTER SCENE IT GAME. Yes. Love. Indulging in my obsession/addiction, needing to find more people to play with!

Now that you’re all caught up… What’s currently going on in your life?! 

9 responses »

  1. I watched the first few seasons of Community but then just stopped. Not sure why. It’s a funny show! I’m currently hooked on Bent. I didn’t expect it to be as funny (and cute!!) as it is.

  2. Community is totally awesome. I love it. And whenever I start a book I can’t get into I just get mad and don’t finish. I have no patience for it at all.

  3. SO much in this post reminds me of me! I started watching Community recently enough too and I’m loving it, I’m also feeling the desperate longing for a holiday, missing spending more time with my baby nephew (babysitting him soon though, so how much I’d missed him may become a distant memory depending on how much screaming he does through the night! =P) and am a self-confessed coffee addict =) I love that you talk about tackling your procrastination, because it’s something I’m guilty of in life and I’m seeing it in my approach to my 101 Things list already too. It sounds like you’re super busy with work and schoolwork though. When I’m working a lot I find that I’m raring to go while I’m at work and even getting more work done after returning home from a shift at night, and then a day off comes and boom, the procrastination begins. Take a trip to Ireland and I’ll tackle you in Harry Potter Scene It! =) (Apologies, I didn’t set out to write you a novel of a comment =P)

    • Hahaha oh this comment totally made me laugh! If I ever come to Ireland I will make sure to bring my HP Scene It with me!

      I’m trying so hard to make today (AKA my day off) productive, I just feel like I don’t have enough hours. BAH. We need to learn to tackle this awful habit! lol

      Thanks for the lovely comment!

  4. Good luck with the studying! I have to write out a study plan each week and I rarely deviate! It’s tough to stick to it sometimes, but it helps keep me on track!

    I am currently really ready for this test to be over. It’s hard to maintain this level of commitment for this long. It’s just over 7 weeks away, though, so the end is in sight.

Leave a Reply

