The Book Chat {Vol 7}

Standard

After two weeks away, I missed you, book chat! Now that school is over, I am so happy to get to talk books again every Thursday. Book chats are hosted by the lovely Jessica over at Sweet Green Tangerine, you can link up too!

Today’s question: What is your favorite friendship in a book? 

My immediate answer to this has something to do with Harry Potter. But since you all expected that, I’m going to try and impress you with a BRAND NEW answer and introduce you to a new friendship that I loved!

The truth is that there are many friendships in books I love. In true cheesy manner, I think it’s one of the best parts of any good book I read. Since I feel like I constantly write about the same rotation of books, I thought I’d bring in my most recent favorite friendship about a book I finished TWO DAYS AGO.

But it was just that good.

I’m talking about Anna and St.Clair from the adorably sweet book Anna and the French Kiss! 

Since I really want to review this book soon, I’m going to try not to talk so much about the book itself & just focus on the friendship between the two main characters.

Basically, Anna meets Etienne St.Clair when she moves to Paris for school for a year. He’s by no means a “perfect” boy and she is nothing like the “perfect” beautiful girls that so often show up in romance novels. They’re both quirky, extremely well written characters that you get to know incredibly well throughout the book. And although they clearly have crushes on each other, they become inseparable best friends before anything else.

I think that’s just my favorite part. Anna is thrown into a world that she’s completely unfamiliar with, and St.Clair helps her navigate through a culture that is completely foreign to her. He gets her thoughtful gifts, he is ALWAYS there to listen to her, and she for him. It’s one of those stories between two people where you just clearly know something more will happen, but reading about just their friendship is half the fun!

And just because I can’t help myself, here are a few other book friendships that just make my heart all warm and fuzzy:

The four girls from the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I don’t think anything will beat Tibby/Bridget/Carmen/Lena for me. They will forever be one of my favorites!

Ron/Harry/Hermione from Harry Potter. I mean, come on. I just love them.

Simon and Clary from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. They might be one of my favorite platonic boy/girl friendships!

What are some of your favorite platonic/non-platonic book friendships?

7 responses »

  1. Ahhh… I really want to read Anna and the French Kiss again now! I absolutely LOVED the relationship between St. Clair & Anna. The whole build-up was so sweet. She has a second book (Lola and the Boy Next Door) that I’ve been putting off reading because her NEXT book doesn’t come out until next year!

  2. I might have to read this one for Megan’s book challenge. I need a book set somewhere I’ve never been.
    I had to laugh because all three of you mentioned hp but thought it was too obvious lol I like that you branched out.
    Now I kinda want to go back and put the maze runner series in there. Thomas and Minho and newt. Love them all.
    Glad you’re back!!

  3. I said the same exact thing about Harry Potter in my Book Chat post today! And aww, the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. That was before Bee turned into Serena Van der Whatsen and now I can never look at her the same! lol

    • Hahaha SO TRUE. I totally see her as Serena all the time too! But in my mind she’ll have always been Bee first. And since I’ve re-read the books in the last year (and have not re-watched the movies) they’re still fresh in my mind as book characters, rather than movie characters. If that makes any sense. ha 🙂

  4. My initial thought was The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants books. I loved the friendships in those books! Also, I loved the friendship in Anne of Green Gables. I loved those books when I was younger and would love to re-read them as an adult! Too many books, so little time…

Leave a Reply

