Oh, Summer!

Standard

There is something about summer being just around the corner that gives me a little spring in my step. Despite the chilly, rainy temperatures these last couple weeks, I’m still so excited about the next four months.

I think it’s the freedom that summer brings. It’s this extra little bonus to my favorite season of the year. I love knowing that the next 120 days are all mine to do what I please. It feels like this stretch of time where anything is possible. It reminds me of being a kid, when the last bell of the year would ring, and I knew I had all these beautiful days to play outside with friends.

This summer, I want to focus on me. I wrote last week about the Ups & Downs of life and how I want to learn to appreciate the moment, and that’s just what I want out of this beautiful upcoming season. Without homework or studying to worry about for the first time in a LONG time, I feel like there is the possibility to do so many great things.

Last summer, I did too much anticipating, rather than living. Looking back, I feel like all I did was try and get through every day until I left for Greece. It was the trip of a lifetime, but I wish there were more memorable moments in the other months to look back on, too. This year, I want to fully enjoy each month, instead of waiting for what’s next.

As of this month, I want to start doing more things for ME, feel less guilty about it, and just overall enjoy the gorgeous weather whenever it gets here.

I want to go to lots of concerts, work to save money, focus on my blog & making my writing the best it can be, and maybe even doing some writing on the side for that book I’ve always wanted to write. I want to read more, finish my scrapbook, spend time in the mornings responding to all the lovely mail I’ve been receiving from bloggers around the world, and most of all never let any of these fun things feel like a chore.

So here is to a summer of taking a step back, enjoying all the beautiful things in life, and hopefully going on an adventure in a new part of the world.

What are the things you enjoy most out of life? Any big summer plans?

26 responses »

  1. I’m excited for summer too! Even though I will still be working full time, something about summer feels more relaxed.

    You have some great plans for your free time!

  2. I agree with Liz – I’ll be working and in school all summer but it definitely feels more relaxed and wonderful. There’s something about the sunshine and warmth that lends itself to parties and adventure. Your goals for summer are awesome, I hope you write about them! Yay for almost summer!

  3. Big summer plans? Ohhh…just going on two cruises. No biggie. 🙂

    I’m trying to remember how fast those cruises are going to go, spend time anticipating them, and living in the moment. While I’m anxious to be on my cruise, I’m also trying to enjoy the little moments right now. It’s hard, though.

    I really want to get my writing mojo back this summer. I keep putting off writing that novel because I say I don’t have time but truthfully, I do. I just choose to spend my time doing other things. (Helllllo, 30 novels in 4 months!)

    I love this post though. It’s an affirmation of what you want. So go back to this when you’re feeling overwhelmed and stressed. And squee! Another traveling adventure. So excited for you. 🙂

    • I’m still so jealous about your cruises! Seriously, I’ll just keep saying that, haha 🙂

      We both need to get back into our writing. I do *truthfully* have the time to write for myself as well, but I spend it doing other things. Time to stop finding excuses and just DO it!

    • At least you still have a week! You should plan something special 🙂 And besides, summer is general is such a lovely time. Find ways to enjoy the nice weather when you can! I’ll still be working 4-5 days a week, but it’s being homework free that I’m so excited about.

      • To be fair I try and make the most of any free time I have all year round. Whether that be out and exploring during the summer, playing in the snow during the winter or just enjoying being snuggled up with my family in the warm, listening to the rain outside.
        As for plans, I’m aiming high, I thinking mountains!!!

  4. I enjoy food and travel :). And a good book. Currently reading a book on food. WEE CROSSING PASSIONS!

    This summer I’ll be visiting my sister for a week in Pittsburgh.

    • Ha, good book on food sounds great! I’m so excited for you to visit your sister in Pittsburgh. It’s been too long for you two! Plus you’ve got BiSC in just a few weeks- so jealous 🙂

  5. So glad you’re free for the next couple months. Freedom!! 😉
    It sort of means the opposite for me since my kids will be home all summer, but I still get that sense of freedom during summer. We have the opportunity to just GO wherever we want, whenever we want. love it. 🙂

    • Haha that’s so true! There are definitely more kids at my work in the summer because parents aren’t always entirely sure where to go and what to do every day. Especially with younger elementary school kids. I have no doubt you’ll find fun adventures for your family in the time off, though! 🙂

  6. I love your goal for this summer! I am going to try and do the same exact thing. I am so THANKFUL that I don’t have to worry about homework over the summer. Without school work in the way, I’ll be able to focus more on VVV and my goals.

  7. This post reminds me of my post today – we both want to live more mindfully!

    My big summer plans include a long weekend in July at my parents’ cabin followed by a trip to BC for Amber Yake’s wedding. Besides that, I have a list of things i want to do once i get my life back after the CFA is over. 😉

    • I was thinking the same thing about our posts! You’ve got some great things to look forward to this summer, I can’t wait for your crazy studying schedule to be donedoneDONE! 🙂

  8. Your summer plans sounds amazing. I wish I had as much time as I had during college…. summers are usually busy for me and since I practically save all my vacation time for Christmas to go home and see my family, I don’t get to enjoy summer as much as I used to… but I’ll of course try to enjoy the crap out of my weekends 🙂

    • I think it’s great that you take your vacations back home! I’m sure I’d do the exact same thing if I didn’t already live at home. Summer was always my favorite season as a kid because of my birthday, but as I get older I’m finding more & more things to love about it. Even though I still work a lot & do various other things, I still find myself loving it the most!

  9. I love that you are reminding yourself to enjoy every day rather than just counting the minutes down to one big event. In hindsight it’s often the smallest things that are our most cherished memories! Enjoy your break!

    • Thanks Dani! I’m trying to teach myself to live in the moment a little more, because I often feel like time is just slipping between my fingers and I don’t remember those little things enough. Hopefully I can change that around this summer! I want to enjoy every little bit of it 🙂

  10. This is a great, affirming post. I hope you have a wonderful summer! I’m not doing much since Rob won’t be around…just trying to enjoy myself and learn how to like being alone sometimes 🙂

    ❤

    • I’m definitely just going to enjoy ME time for the first few months of summer, too! You’ll make the best of your summer, I have no doubt! Even without Rob around all the time 🙂

Leave a Reply

