The Book Chat {Vol 8}

Standard

The Book Chat is hosted every Thursday by Jessica from Sweet Green Tangerine. Head over and link up!

Today’s question: What are some of your best vacation reads?

I’m a big reader on vacation. I actually make an effort to read more on vacation than at any other time, simply because it is the most relaxing thing I can do, and often the hobby that gets put on a back burner when I have too much other work to do. But on vacation? All bets are off.

I also have terrible luck with books on vacation. In the past, I’ve brought a ton of books with me and been very disappointed because I didn’t enjoy them as much as I would have liked. It almost feels like a curse at this point; I have all this time to read so I try and bring a diverse selection of books, and then I think to myself “why didn’t you just stick with what you knew you’d like?!”

When I have stuck to my gut, I’ve read some fantastic novels. Here are the top 5 books I’ve loved and read on vacation: 

#5- The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. This was my most recent vacation read, when I went to Florida. Honestly? If it weren’t for vacation I’m not sure how long it would have taken me to finish! I was reading it on my Kindle and it was taking me forever. All I needed was a good 5 hour plane ride, and I was completely immersed in the story. Now I can’t wait to read the last two in this dystopian trilogy!

PS: This book just got a director to be made into a movie. Charlie Kaufman will be directing Knife of Never Letting Go & I predict great things for it. 

#4- Blink by Malcolm Gladwell. If it weren’t for all the hours I spent at the beach in Europe, I may have never picked up this book. But with all the free time from learning, it seemed my brain missed it. I needed this good, thoughtful book to get my brain working again! It was a fascinating read and I couldn’t believe how immersed I was in Gladwell’s work while on a BEACH. I talked to all my friends about it while I read it, it was just so cool.

#3- My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares. One of my guilty pleasures in reading is epic love stories. This one was no different. I brought it to Greece with me and proceeded to force my 3 other friends to read it when I was done. I just love Ann Brashares!

#2- Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty. As if I haven’t talked about this book a million times already, but I brought this one to Cuba with me and couldn’t believe what a gem it was! I laughed like a crazy person on the beach, came home, and bought the rest of the series. So good!

#1- The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I brought this book with me to Mexico and could not put it down. Although it’s much younger reading, it was the perfect mix of funny and adventure. I proceeded to reading the entire series when I came home! Probably one of the best vacation read choices I’ve ever made.

What are some of your most successful vacation/beach reads?! 

10 responses »

  1. Why does that title, The Knife of Never Letting Go, sound so familiar to me? I’ll have to check it out.
    I have not ready any of these on here, so I’ll be check them out too.
    I have a hard time deciding what to pack too that’s why I love my Kindle. Or else I’d be packing a stack of books which I probably wouldn’t read. lol
    As always, thanks for linking up!!

    • I started bringing my Kindle on vacations and it’s been a LIFE SAVER. Especially while I was in Greece, lol. I’m still having trouble using it on a day-to-day basis though, working in a bookstore I want to buy ALL THE BOOKS! ha 🙂

  2. I’m not the biggest reader in the world but it would be a toss up between the entire harry potter series next to a pool or the shining on an 8 hour plane ride.

    • ah, Harry Potter in vacation sounds great to me! I watched The Shining a few too many times as a teenager and now I don’t think I could ever read the book. That sounds awful, but it’s so true. Jack Nicholson terrified me!

      • Really? I read the book before the film and I really didn’t think that much of the film. I felt as it was a story about a guy going crazy, that the book was able to get you inside his head a lot more.

  3. I would say:

    1. Without Reservations (Travel memoir that I love)
    2. Love Walked In (fast, engaging read!)
    3. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Long and suspenseful, but so good!)
    4. Every Last One (because this is the kind of book you don’t want to put down once you start)
    5. Loving Frank (because it’s an awesome book)

    • I love that you made me a list of your faves! The travel memoir is something I will 100% have to check out. I’ve never been able to get interested in Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, just because it seems too BIG for me. But we’ll see, maybe one day! 🙂

  4. I once re-read Pride and Prejudice (for like the 8th time) on a train ride from California to Illinois one winter. You can’t ever go wrong with that if you ask me. Haha!

    And YES for Charlie K writing the screenplay for The Knife. Seriously that is the greatest news like ever!

Leave a Reply

