An Update on Goals

Standard

In January, I decided to join a group of bloggers in a project called 12 Changes. My first month was awesome- I went vegetarian (and stayed more or less that way for nearly 6 weeks), became a MUCH healthier eater, started to think more consciously about my fitness, and overall had a more positive outlook on the parts of my life that I wanted to improve.

Slowly in my second and third months, I stopped thinking about my project. I was feeling motivated at the beginning of each month to take on a new goal, but within the first week I would entirely stop caring about accomplishing it. Maybe I took too much on at the same time; with work, school, regularly blogging & other various things, it became really difficult to think about this extra project that required quite a bit of time and conscious thought.

I persisted, though. In March and April I set myself up with yet another goal, and both times I didn’t even care to try and achieve it after writing down my objectives. It was in the middle of April, when I realized how much I was failing at another goal in my 12 Changes project, that I realized I just wasn’t dedicating any kind of thought to this project anymore. On paper, it sounded awesome- but in reality? I wasn’t following through with ANY of my challenges.

The truth is, even though I’m a huge procrastinator, I’m also extremely ambitious. I constantly convince myself that I can take on yet another thing, and another, and then another, until finally I realize I probably shouldn’t have agreed to all these projects. I mean, I currently have a semi-full time paying job and I’m now doing two part-time NON paying jobs. I try and blog  5 days a week. I have a 23 Before 23 list of goals with a looming deadline, a 101 in 1,001 list of goals with a deadline a little further away, and a ton of other commitments that take up my time.

I’ve got all these plans, but having too many is starting to get to me. It’s never easy to admit that you’re giving up on something, but I know that by finally deciding this project isn’t for me I’ll be able to focus my time into the things that I’m actually feeling good about.

So today, I’m shutting down my 12 Changes. It was fun while it lasted, but truthfully it was one thing too much for me.

That being said, I’m excited to play catch-up with all the other things I’ve got going on. Like I mentioned last week I really want to take advantage of this summer, and I just don’t want to stress myself out with yet another deadline.

I plan on writing an update on the other things I’ve got going on later this week, just to get myself back on track. The whole accumulation of TOO MUCH these last few weeks has meant that the things I actually managed to work on this year haven’t been going very well. I’m excited to re-focus my attention on the projects that I still feel passionate about, and see where that takes me for the next few months! 

Have you ever given up on a project, or felt like you took on too much? 

18 responses »

  1. I know we’ve already discussed this, but I had to do the same. I think I was approaching it in the wrong way. I was setting myself up with these huge, monstrous goals but not really setting smaller plans in place to achieve them. For my own sanity and peace of mind, I had to stop. I love the idea behind it, but it just was working for what I need right now.

    You have a lot on your plate! Hopefully the summer will help you to be able to relax your pace a little and refocus your attention again.

    • I definitely need this summer to decompress and just BE. It was after talking to you that I really took my thoughts more seriously and put them into quitting. I had originally “quit” in April but decided I needed to write about it for closure. It was a good run and a GREAT project. Maybe I’ll try again in 2013! Who knows what I’ll feel like by then 🙂

  2. Good for you Melissa for knowing what was working for you and what wasn’t. Don’t be compeled to do aproject if you just aren’t into it!

  3. I think the idea behind this project is good. i use the same theory in a lot of my challenges. 40 days and nights without cola and now i rarepy drink it. 101 days without fast food and now i eat a lot less of it. now i’m doing 30 days of yoga in the hope to find a missing part if my fitness plan. the thing is i do them when i’m ready to do them not because i feel i have to.

    • I completely agree with this! I think my problem is that I was really taking on more than I could handle this year. I have that habit of thinking I’ll find a way to make time for everything I want to do. It’s a mixture of too much ambition and just not thinking things through. I’ll definitely consider 12 Changes again another year, but right now I’ve just got too many other things that I want to be focusing on.

  4. I understand where you’re coming from, Melissa. While I am sad you won’t continue with 12 changes (I loved to read about your goals), I can understand that it just adds to all the stuff you have on your plate already (and you’ll still be posting awesome stuff, so I am not worried about this!).

    Now, in month 5 I am actually setting smaller goals than I did in the first four months, because I realize as well that I can’t keep adding stuff to my plate. i am going to focus on goals that I will do for a month and then stop and focus on something else. I think that is a much better approach.

    • I’m so happy the project has been working so well for you, San! You’ve been doing so well & I really wish I was able to make it work better for me. I think that right now, it’s just an extra commitment with time that I don’t have or want to give to the project. I have so many other things that I want to finish in 2012, I had to put this one aside for now. I’m happy I tried it and I know in the future, when I have less on my plate, it might be fun to pick it back up and try again! 🙂

  5. My dad, best friend, and boyfriend get on me ALL the TIME for YEARS because I give myself deadlines and I make myself sick accomplishing them. I usually make the goals but what ends up happening is I make myself literally sick with no sleep and stress and all for deadlines I imposed on myself.

    • Yes! I definitely get this way too. It can get pretty bad- especially when it comes to school and I start to procrastinate. I’ll feel SO guilty and just make myself sick with stress. So happy to have the summer to DECOMPRESS and do what I want! That’s a big reason that I’m avoiding deadlines for myself right now.

  6. I tried to do the 101 in 1001, and i just didnt dedicate any time to that after a while either! I find its the same with weightloss. I cant stick with it because the pressure just annoys me after a while instead of motivating me.
    I love the idea of 12 changes, i might even check that out myself since I’m not working on anything.

    • You should definitely look into it! I was very passionate about the idea at first, I just couldn’t follow through. I loved my 101 list (actually have a post about it for tomorrow) but it’s definitely a big stress with the time limit. Not every project can be for everyone, but if we know which ones work for us then we’ll have an idea of how to be that much happier while accomplishing goals. 🙂

  7. It’s really important to be totally invested in a goal if you want to complete it…if you aren’t feeling it you simply won’t find the motivation to do it. I applaud you for recognizing what works best for you, not everyone is so self-aware. 🙂 Congrats and good luck!

    • Thanks lady! It kind of sucks to shut down a project I was so passionate about, but who knows? Maybe next year or some year later on it’ll work better!

  8. Sometimes you have to take a step back and assess whether something is working for you. I debated doing the 12 changes, but felt like it was just TOO much for me. I prefer to focus on a few smaller goals – I have 3-4 for this year. It’s more manageable for me!

Leave a Reply

