Summer & Being Happy

Standard

Since finishing school (and getting grades back, I’m officially FREE!) I’m trying to live more in the moment. Right now. I’m teaching myself that everything I do should make me happy, rather than stressed or guilty or worse, bored.

So far, this has been working fantastically. The best part is that I haven’t even had to remind myself that this is the goal; I’m just living it. I’ll stop every once in a while and realize that I am doing something that makes me happy and stress free, and that makes me even MORE happy. I want to keep track of all these happy summer days so that I can look back on them, and today was definitely one of them (and by today, I mean yesterday, because this post was written & scheduled ahead of time of course!)

The last 3 or 4 days have been BEAUTIFUL here in Montreal. I mean, warm enough to sit outside and get some sun. Summer isn’t far now, and it’s really starting to show. Before writing this post, I decided that I wanted to do one of my absolute favorite things- lay out in the sun with some good music, a book, and just relax. I haven’t been able to do that since last summer, and honestly it was just the loveliest thing. My reading always picks up around this time of year simply because I am SO HAPPY to sit outside with a couple hours to kill, guilt-free. I put on the radio on my iPhone, brought out ‘Truth About Forever’ by Sarah Dessen, and just enjoyed some of the beautiful temperatures before heading off to work.

In an effort to remind myself of everything I love about this time of the year, I wanted to write a little bit about the simple things that I just love about this time of year, and that I was reminded of today while I was outside.

– When it gets too hot in the sun, I love cutting up a fruit and eating it in the shade, just before heading back out for a little while longer.

– While the sun is hot & I’m reading, I love when a really great song comes on & I have to put my book down for three minutes, close my eyes and just enjoy the music. Especially those really great songs that remind me of summer time! 

– Going to sleep knowing that I have the next day off and it’s going to be gorgeous outside. I love deciding that I’m taking a ‘me’ day with the sun to just relax, or making plans to do something fun in the nice weather.

– When I get scheduled a little bit later in the day, like today, and I can enjoy a couple really great hours in the day before heading to work! 

Maybe it’s because the weather here is only this gorgeous for a few months out of the year, but I have this extreme appreciation for summer, and it only grows every single year. I mean, of course there are those suffocatingly hot days when I’d prefer working in the air conditioning than being anywhere near the sun, and I curse my mother for being a non-believer in air conditioning for our home. But overall? It’s kind of like the sun reminds me just how happy I am to live in this city, especially at this time of the year.

I really just love the endless possibilities that comes with this season. Don’t you?

21 responses »

  1. I love summertime SO much. It can get unbearably hot and even now, the humidity is killer which means we’re in for a hot, hot, hot summer but I still love it. Nothing makes me feel more alive than the sun on my face! I think it helps our moods, too. It’s hard for me to be too sad and upset when I live in such a beautiful part of the world! 🙂

    • So true! I wish I lived in a warmer place- Often I find myself truly believing I could just leave and live in Florida for a few years. At least I’d have you there for company!! lol

  2. Great post! I always have a problem with letting go of the guilt and just being happy. It’s been too long since I’ve just done what I want to for awhile. Working on that now!

    • Good for you! I know exactly what you mean, but sometimes we just have to learn to live and be happy and do things for US. School makes it so easy to forget how to do that!

  3. It’s already starting to get dreadfully hot here so I’ve been trying to spend as much time outdoors as I can right now. I’m loving sitting out on the balcony, listening to some tunes and working on VVV. I can’t wait for summer to get here!

    • We’re totally loving the same things right now. Now that school is done I’m learning to just calm down, do things for me, and remind myself I HAVE NO DEADLINES. It’s been weird, but liberating.

  4. It’s good to hear that your simply enjoying life and living worry free. forget all of the goals and bucket lists in the world, you’ve already found what you want from life.

    • I think you may be right. I’m finally realizing what it is that makes me TRULY happy. I must say goals and bucket lists have helped somewhat along the way, but just growing up will do that for you, too 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I really enjoyed my first Dessen book, I may pick another one up this summer- Maybe Just Listen? It seems like that’s a popular choice!

    • I should probably enjoy my school-free summers while I have them! I mean, I still work and whatnot, but it still FEELS like I’ve got 90% less responsibility haha

  5. I feel the same way about summer. I appreciate it so much, mostly because of the cold, cold weather we get in the winter! I can’t wait to soak up some time outdoors after my big exam. I love sitting on my balcony with a good book. Or sitting at the end of my parents’ dock while my nephews fish. And grilling. Yum. 🙂

    • I think the fact that winter lasts so long here definitely helps how much I love summer. I think the heat and humidity all year round might drive me insane… But who knows. Maybe not!

  6. Have you ever tried meditation? It’s perfect for reminding you to slow down and just BE. It’s also super relaxing and easy when you’re already in that frame of mind! I think you’d love it!

    • I’ve never tried meditation! I feel like it would be so hard for me because my brain is constantly buzzing… I mean, I’ve done it a couple times in yoga classes but it was super hard for me! Maybe I should give it another shot?

Leave a Reply

