The 411 on the 101

Standard

This month, I am taking a huge break from goals. I decided this earlier in the week when I wrote about giving up my 12 Changes. I was so immediately RELIEVED after writing those words. I thought to myself “when did you start achieving goals as a chore, rather than as something that makes you happy?”

So I’m taking May as a guilt-free month off. I didn’t write about any specific goals for May, and I fully plan on keeping it that way. That being said, I’m trying to find the love in my goals again. When I look at the lists I have made for myself, I am still so happy & proud of all I’ve done, but mostly I am excited for what I have left to do.

My 101 in 1,001 is coming to an end in FIVE MONTHS. I still have about 30 or so goals to complete. I know they won’t all be finished, and I a 100% okay with that. In fact, a lot of the ones that are left are the goals I’ve outgrown. I remember who I was when I wanted to complete them 3 years ago, but that just isn’t me anymore.

There are still a few on there that I want to complete. Even if my deadline comes up and I don’t get them done, I know I will one day- hopefully soon. Ironically, it’s #1 on my list that I want to accomplish most. I guess some things don’t change? Getting a tattoo is something I have wanted for SO long. I now want THREE tattoos- one for each of my big passions in life. I should probably start with one though, right?

#4 on my list will happen in the next few months. I’ve told just about everyone I know that I fully plan on getting my license this summer. With my job, school, and just the fact that I’m getting older, it’s time I pass my license & get my own little car. I really WANT to drive, it’s the time to physically accomplish this goal that has been missing. This summer, it is definitely happening.

There are some silly things on my list that feel more like little nagging tasks, but I still want to do them. Things like putting together a music scrapbook with all my ticket stubs, sleeping under the stars, having a Lord of the Rings movie marathon & baking a rainbow cake. They’re all fun little things that I still want to make time for. Now that my list is dwindling down to the last few things, I feel like it’ll be much easier to cross these things off. As long as I have the motivation to do these things for MYSELF, I know I’ll get them done.

I’ve had SO much fun completing the other 60 or so items on my 101. I have learned so many things; having multiple reading goals is never a good idea, creating nagging chores as items on a list will ensure that they’ll never get done, and making goals too long and boring to actually accomplish will mean the exact same thing. I look at some things on my list and think “what on EARTH were you thinking, self? Did you really want to watch the news every day for a month and KEEP TRACK OF IT?” At the same time though, I’m so happy that I wrote those goals to begin with. They gave me a starting point for setting goals, and some of the silly ones GOT DONE ANYWAY!

I’m excited to dedicate some time to my 101 list this summer. I think I can make good progress on a lot of the remaining goals that I’m still motivated to accomplish. Regardless of what happens between now and the end of semester, I already consider my very first list of 101 goals a HUGE success. When I originally wrote the list, I didn’t think I’d make any progress at all. I’ve still got a lot of work to do, but I’ve done so many of these things just for ME, and that’s how I know that I’ve been doing it right.

I can’t wait to see how many more things I cross off in this last stretch!

Have you ever written a 101 in 1,001? Would you ever consider doing one?Β 

12 responses »

  1. I started my 101 in 1001 last year and very quickly scrapped the list but continued with the quest. i’m loving doing the project this way and i’m really interested in this goaless path you seem to be finding yourself on.

    • I think that by accomplishing goals, we all tend to find ourselves on an entirely new path to actually finishing them up. As long as we’re happy doing it, I think that’s what’s most important!

  2. I took May off from making any goals, too. I’m not sure why, I just never set any and honestly, it’s felt good. I have a lot going on this month between work and traveling so I think I needed some time away from constantly thinking of “bettering myself”.

    I’m thinking of making a “30 before 30” list on my birthday. I’ll be 25 this year so it gives me 5 years to accomplish a bevy of important goals. I’m excited to start creating that.

    Our goals are constantly evolving as we grow. Things we wanted just three months ago may not be things we want now. I think it’s important, especially if we set long-term goals, to go back and re-evaluate our lists. I’m doing that now, even with my 2012 resolutions. I’m finding there are some goals on there that I don’t necessarily care to accomplish. Things I thought I would want 5 months ago, I don’t want now.

    • The 30 Before 30 is an AMAZING idea. I love that! I can’t believe you’re going to be 25. In my mind, you’re still the 22 year old from when we first met. I forget we aren’t quite the same age, hehe πŸ™‚

  3. I’m worried now, looking back on mine after only about a month, that some of them are already a little unrealistic! Haha, il give it a good go though! I’m glad you’re feeling much better about your goals situation πŸ™‚

    • Don’t be worried! I think it just shows how much you grow as a person. Don’t be too hard on yourself if you don’t finish them all- 101 goals is a LOT for anyone and you’re bound to get bored of some of them every once in a while. But keep them around til the end- just in case you change your mind πŸ™‚

  4. You might not be doing the 12 changes project, but you’re still chasing goals, so I consider this a good thing πŸ™‚ it doesn’t matter in which way you do it…as long as you are inspired to do new things πŸ™‚

    • Yes, exactly! I wouldn’t have quit 12 Changes if I didn’t have other things to work towards. I was iffy about ‘quitting’ it at first, but I’m so relieved I did. I have tons of other things to do and I’m ambitious enough that I’m not worried about getting NOTHING done before 2013.

  5. I had a 101 for my old blog, but never did anything to try to scratch them off my list. The thing about a lot of the things on my 101 is that I want them to happen of their own accord, so then I made a list of things about life I simply love. It’s still on my old blog, and I suppose I should transfer it to my new one, I just haven’t done it yet. It’s a list I made in my journal initially. Typically, I’m really bad at setting goals for myself. I’ve always used the excuse that school was getting in the way, but now that I’ve graduated I can’t say that anymore. I’ve GOT to take the time to put in some writing if I want to finish a complete draft of my book. Self-discipline, motivation, organization, and structure have always been lacking in me, and I absolutely hate that. I hate being slack, slump, and disorderly. We’ll call this my biggest goal set to achieve, and it’s for life.

    • Making a list of goals and just telling myself that it’s there to accomplish for 1,001 days did wonders for me. I knew I didn’t have to do it RIGHT NOW if I didn’t want to, but it would be there when I was ready to tackle some of the goals. And I’ve gotten a lot done because of that! You should consider doing it again πŸ™‚

  6. I haven’t done a 101 in 1,0001 challenge, but I did do a 30 before 30 list. I started it about 11 months before I turned 30, though, so I didn’t have a ton of time to get everything done. I got a little over half done, and I am actually totally ok with that. I did more than I would have if I hadn’t created the list! πŸ™‚

    • We have the exact same mentality about it! I’m kind of sad I didn’t pay more attention to my 23 Before 23 list, but I think it was a little more ambitious than it should have been. Like… A lot, actually. But I’m happy that I tried my best. I have 2 months left, maybe I’ll get a few more things done!

Leave a Reply

