The Book Chat {Vol 9}

Standard

Thursdays are Book Chat days! You can link up on Jessica’s blog Sweet Green Tangerine ๐Ÿ™‚

Today’s question: Choose a book and make a playlist for it!ย 

I should probably start off by saying that this is such a Jess question it made me laugh out loud. I know that she LOVES making playlists to go with her books, and I love seeing what she comes up with when she does it. (Remember her guest post while I was in Florida?)

I am ashamed to admit that as a book lover AND music addict, making a playlist to go with books is not something I’m very good at. Although to be fair, I’ve never tried. Usually when I’m reading, I turn on my ‘Faves’ playlist. It’s constantly refreshed (like, daily) with whatever songs I’m listening to on repeat.

So today, I’ve decided to share with you a good book & some good music. They don’t necessarily go TOGETHER but it’ll give you a little peak into what I’ve been reading and listening to all at once! I actually finished this book just yesterday, so I thought today’s post would be a great reason to do a little book review & share some of the songs I listened to repeatedly while I read it.

The Book

Book: The Truth About Forever

Author: Sarah Dessen

Type: YA Contemporary Fiction

Release Date: May 11th 2004

Publisher: ย Penguin Group

This was my very first dip into the world of Sarah Dessen and I must admit I quite enjoyed it! The story revolves around Macy, a young girl who lost her father suddenly to a heart attack a year and a half earlier. Since then, she has mastered the art of seeming perfect. Her looks, her behavior, her grades, even her boyfriend.

But when the perfect boyfriend leaves for the summer, sticks Macy with his extremely boring job at the library, & breaks up with her, Macy finds herself looking for something more to life. She comes across a job at WISH, a catering company owned by the wonderful, chaotic, imperfect Delia.

With Delia & her crew, Macy begins to truly grieve for her loss and realize that being perfect is not only unnecessary, but not possible. With the help of Wes, the gorgeous boy who works for Wish and becomes Macy’s best friend, she learns that there is more to life than perfect grades and a desk job that makes her unhappy. She is in control of her forever, and with Wes Macy begins to see that she can be happy once again.

Truth About Forever is a story about loss, love, truths, and a great coming of age novel for girls at any age.

The Short Review

I would normally make this a bit longer, but since this is like a three-in-one post I’ll try and keep it short and sweet! Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I think Dessen has a great style of writing & she gives each of her characters a depth that I had almost forgotten could exist- it’s been a while since I’ve read a story who’s characters felt so incredibly REAL to me.ย 

I’ll be honest, this book was a bit tough for me to read. Not only because the first 100-150 pages are a bit slow going, but the topic itself. I’ve gone through losing my father & I connected with Macy on A LOT of levels. We’ve had completely different lives of course, but being inside her head and reading things that felt so real to me too was not easy. It was, however, wonderful. This book definitely made me cry.ย 

Other than the slow start, the only thing that I wasn’t crazy about in this book was the slow plot development. The “climax” of the novel wasn’t until MUCH further in the story, and that made it hard to want to continuously follow along. I wish there had been more development between Wes & Macy, but that’s just my romantic side wanting to read more about them- not a fault on Dessen’s part at all. I actually really like that the focus was so much on Macy and her grieving process.

I would definitely read more Sarah Dessen, so let me know which are your favorites so I know what to pick up next!

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Playlist

Here are a few songs I obsessively listened to these last few days while I made my way through this book:

Hold On by the Alabama Shakes — This is currently my favorite song. SO GOOD. The whole album! Thanks Jess ๐Ÿ™‚
Give Me Love by Ed Sheeran — You should be listening to this guy. What a talent.
Called Out in the Dark by Snow Patrol— I love this music video!
From Finner by Of Monsters and Men— My ongoing love affair with OMAM continues
Body Work by Morgan Page (feat. Tegan & Sara)— Thank you random radio station for this. Love!

What are you reading & listening to these days?!

8 responses »

  1. lol Jess question. love it.
    I have read one Dessen book, Along for the Ride, and I enjoyed it, but I listened to it on Audiobook and I felt like it was really slow moving too so i might not have finished it if I were reading it. I liked it but I realized it wasn’t the style for me. Good writer though.
    And I love your playlist! I’m glad you like Alabama Shakes so much ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. The Truth About Forever is my absolute favorite Dessen book! I just loved the story between Macy and Wes. It was so sweet and cute. ๐Ÿ™‚ And Macy was a great character. I’ve read Someone Like You and What Happened to Goodbye, both I really liked but probably WHtG more. WHtG was pretty awesome so you should try that one next!

  3. I love love LOVE Sarah Dessen – I actually named my blog after one of her books! Just Listen is a really great read (and so is the book ๐Ÿ˜› haha, just kidding) but TTAF is probably my ultimate fave. I also love Lock & Key, Along For The Ride and Last Chance. Dreamland and This Lullaby are really good too though, it’s too hard to recommend just one! They’re all great really but they have different back stories, so Just Listen sticks out for me because it’s all about music, which I also love. You should definitely read more by her! xx

    http://dontthinkorjudge.blogspot.co.uk/

  4. Love that you’re still shouting about Ed Sheeran on here – he’s so amazing. On the radio all the time here, I hope he makes it like that in Canada soon!

    Sounds like a great book, I’ll add it to the list! (do you find that the list of of books you want to read is endless and constantly growing?!)

  5. 4 out of 5, huh? I haven’t read that one yet; guess I’m putting it on my list! Also, LOVE Snow Patrol. Such a good band.

  6. I have SO. MUCH. DESSEN. LOVE. This one is my favorite of hers, right alongside This Lullaby, but I truly, madly, deeply love all of her work. I have never made a book playlist… but one of these days I really want to make one for my WiP!

    …When it I have a draft done and it won’t be a procrastination tool anyway, lol

Leave a Reply

