A new countdown begins!

Standard

It’s no secret that I’ve caught the traveling bug, and I think after going to Europe last summer for the very first time it got even worse. I vaguely remember coming home after 3 weeks in Greece with 3 of my best friends and feeling like my ACTUAL home would never be the same to me again. I was wrong, of course, but when that travel high went away I realized that what I REALLY wanted was simply to have the opportunity to travel MORE. Instead of spending all my money on ALL THE THINGS that didn’t matter, I wanted to save & see the world.

Coming home from Greece last year I remember feeling one thing for certain. I LOVED Europe & I wanted to go back and see many more of the countries there. However as a student, that trip was extremely expensive for me. I told myself that  I would go back when I was no longer a student struggling my way through expenses.

Turns out, I just can’ t stay away from Europe.

If you follow me on Twitter, Instagram or if we’re friends on Facebook you may have already seen my news but… I’m going back to Europe for almost THREE weeks in August! I’ll be spending 19 days with my best friend traveling through Italy, France, and parts of England. Things may change a little bit here and there (we’re still figuring out our itinerary) but basically that is what we have planned.

I’m SO excited. We’ve been talking about this trip for weeks now, but as of Saturday our flight to Rome (and leaving Paris) is BOOKED!

I’m so nervous, to be honest. I love talking about traveling the world but I think this trip will be my scariest yet. I have to find a backpack. I’m going to be traveling into different COUNTRIES. Just the two of us. Probably staying in hostels with strangers. I’m nervous because I’m going back to a country I LOVE and I have all these memories from my last trip. I know that traveling has been SO good for me. I’ve ultimately changed as a person for it. It makes me nervous to see who I’ll be when I get home on August 26th after three weeks of living from a backpack. Last summer I had so much trouble re-adjusting to being home and I just don’t want to go through that again.

But most of all? I’m excited. I’m SO excited. I’m going back to Europe.

I’m visiting places like this:

via

via

via

via

via

Europe 2012. Let the planning begin! 

If you have any suggestions, recommendations or tips for any parts of France, Italy or England… I’d love to hear them 🙂 

13 responses »

  1. Yay, yay, yay! I am so excited for you! I have absolutely no tips, as I haven’t yet been to that part of the world – YET. But I know this is something you’ve been dreaming of doing for a long time now and it’s exciting to see it all unfold!

    I think it’s normal to be scared of what you’ll feel like when you return, but I think you’ll also be aware of these feelings more and be able to combat them. 🙂 I’m so excited for all the fun and adventure you’ll get to have.

    • Oh my goodness. I am so envious. I have never been to Europe, but I’ve been dreaming about it for years now. I hope you share all of your adventures. I need inspiration so that I might actually make the trip one day!

  2. How awesome and exciting!! I can totally understand your excitement. I’ve never traveled overseas before, but I’ve seen photos and I have always wanted to go. And wow- backpacking? Sounds like a challenge. Speaking of- have you read the book Wanderlust? If not, you really should, especially in preparation for your epic adventure ahead.
    I look forward to hearing more about your plans!!

  3. That is so exciting! What a fabulous trip! You are so smart to be doing this when you are young and not working a corporate-type job! I studied abroad, so I can’t really complain as I got 4 months in Australia, but I do wish I would have found a way to take a trip to Europe after college. So good for you for doing these trips now while you can!

    If you have any Paris questions, let me know. 🙂 My one suggestion for Paris is to do a Fat Tire Bike Tour – preferably the evening one because then you ride in a boat along the Seine and drink wine and watch the ET light up. It’s awesome. And it’s a great way to get a feel for Paris, so I recommend doing it the first day or two of your trip!

  4. I’m in goosebumps, so excited for you. Traveling through Europe is one of those things I have always desired doing but am waiting for until I finish college and save more money (because I’m wicked bad at that). I just know that you’re going to have so much fun.

  5. SO exciting! I actually wish I’d traveled more in college. I guess I did go to Europe twice… Ha! But I wish I’d traveled even MORE than that 🙂

    Definitely go to Cinque Terre. So incredible! And DON’T stay near the train station in Rome. The hostels there are shady even though they’re cheap (that’s where we got robbed)! It’s worth it to get a more reliable one that’s more expensive!

  6. SO EXCITED FOR YOU!! I’ve been to Paris and Rome so if you need any tips when it comes to them let me know and I’ll help best I can. Where are you going in England? I’ve lived ALL over this tiny little country in my time so anything you need to know just e-mail. You’re going to have an AMAZING time xx

  7. Ummmmm, you’re coming to England?!? 🙂 amazing! Any help you need (or a tour guide!) then give me a shout! I also travelled Europe a few summers ago, so have quite a bit of hostel research should you need it! Haha I’m so excited for you!

  8. eeee that is awesome! i am so excited for you. i cannot wait to go back to europe again on day. italy was seriously one of my favorite places and ah. all of the happiness and pasta and wine envy.

  9. Fun fun fun!!! I’m so excited for you! (and crazy jealous). Have so much fun and soak it all up and take lots of pictures. Food, wine, and beer…I think that’s what you really need to focus on here. lol Cannot wait to see all of the pictures.

  10. I’m so excited for you! This is the best time to experience the world, while you’re young and free. You will have such a different perspective on the culture by doing it as a backpacker than by staying in hotels. You should check out STA Travel for day trips in the countries you are visiting.

Leave a Reply

